We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth visiting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of War Museum of Athens

War Museum of Athens
Rizari 2, Athens, Greece
+30 21 0729 0543
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 193 attractions in Athens
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: In 1964, the Hellenic State decided to found the War Museum, wishing to honor all those who fought for our country and its freedom.The design of the museum was undertaken by a team of distinguished scientists, headed by Professor Thoukidides Valentis of the National Technical university of Athens (N.T.U.A).On July 18, 1975, the President of the Hellenic Republic H.E. Constantine Tsatsos and the Minister of National Defense Evangelos Averof-Tositsas inaugurated the Museum.Its various activities include the publication of books, the establishment and maintenance of monuments and memorials and the aid to services and agencies all over Greece.The Museum’s exhibition areas are distributed over four levels (floors) and present images of Greek history from antiquity to the present.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The war museum was very pleasurable and nice to walk around.There were different planes and tanks that you could view and touch it also came with information about them.Entering the building to the left of the till there was a big room with some of the weapons that they would have used in the war:Guns,knifes(very perplexing knifes) and armer hats.I would definately recommend the war museum as it's very interesting and quite close to the presidential park

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
thessaloniki
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“awesome !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

there was so much history there! the place was spotless! the door charge was minimal,i cant remeber if i even paid! both of my sons were soo amused & surprisingly enough even my wife enjoyed it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“UK Visitors. Go, and be embarrassed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Most of the exhibits are a bit 'old style' museum, but the videos are very very good. Take to heart the mess the UK made of Cyprus diplomacy. Best quote "Greeks do not aspire to fight like Heroes. Heroes aspire to fight like Greeks." They are a nation of brave people - men and women. Would that our politicians could match their courage.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A good museum that still could be improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We visit national military history museums in countries we tour, as a good (if nationalistic) introduction to the country's history. THe Athens War Museum is very good, covering an extraordinary period from prehistory through the Persian Wars, the classic age of Greece, the periods of outside occupation, the Greek Wars of Independence, and the 20th century. Exhibits are extensive, but not well lit, making it difficult to read some of the materials. Explanatory materials in English were reasonably good. The Greeks have much to be proud of, and we learned much we did not know. I woild recommend the museum to people interested in military history. We spent abut 3 hours there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting... if you're into it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

If you like war history it is very interesting!!! They have the different weaponry that was used from the dawn of man in Greece until the last conflicts in the country. And they explain many of the battles and different phases that Greece went through to get to where it is today. It is €2 to get in, so it is cheap! But the hours are very limited, make sure you got time to see everything. They close at 2pm and they are very pushy when it comes to closing time and kicking people out... we got there at about 1pm and did not get to do much :(
Another reason for the mark down is that not everything has an english translation, so you'll end up skipping quite a few texts. But the things that do have a text are very interesting. It was quite enjoyable ( the little parts that we got to see).
Stop by if you like this kind of stuff. If it does not really interest you, skip it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed War Museum of Athens also viewed

 

Been to War Museum of Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage War Museum of Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added War Museum of Athens to your Saves list