We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent loukoumades and beignets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loukumami

Loukumami
44 Panepistimiou Str., Athens 10679, Greece
+(30)210 3389733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #239 of 2,048 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Greek, Ice Cream, Café, Donuts
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Description: Funky new patisserie/cafe in downtown Athens which offers the original Greek loukouma, the authentic spanish churro, and the original french beignet. Here you will find a great variety of chocolate creams and sauces to create your own combination. We serve delicious home made ice creams & cold yogurts. Great selection of coffees, milk shakes, smoothies, signature chocolate bevs. and soft drinks
Kifisia, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent loukoumades and beignets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

After a visit to the center of Athens for shopping and sightseeing with the children, walking in panepistimiou, we discovered probably the best place to eat a quick snak! We tried almost everything... an absolute recommendation are the churros served in a bag with sugar and cinnamon and also the beignets with various fillings (framboise and pistachio my favorites). My son enjoined his loukoumades and my daughter her churros with an incredible chocolate dip! My husband who really likes loukoumades wants to go there every Saturday :) prices are very reasonable and the interior design of the place is very impressive!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Excellent greek snd spsnish loukoumades. Clean toilets. Friendly staff. Good inox equipment. Clean, new, well serviced by Michalis.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must visit for people with a sweet tooth (and kids in tow)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I discovered Loukumami while browsing the centre of Athens with my 3-year old son and was blissfully surprised to find a place that could make us both equally happy! Serving great coffee and prime-quality hot chocolate and an impressive selection of handmade deserts varying from sweet churros to beignets and the Greek classic "Lukumas", we had probably one of the nicest afternoons in the city! While I savoured a jazzy beignet filled with pistachio (!!!) my little one could not get enough of his cute little paper bag filled with crunchy churros sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar! A place where on top of the sweet delights, we also found a fun atmosphere and finally some child friendly attention! I couldn't help ordering another goodie bag with churros in chocolate dip for the ride back home!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Visiting for a friends wedding and strolling down Panestimiou street, we were surprised to see such a tasteful pastry shop! Stopping just for a quick coffee we tried the most amazing churros we have ever tasted with a perfect dark chocolate dip (and we have had a lot of churros during our last trip in Spain). The value was very good for the whole experience and the staff very nice and friendly!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Probablty the Best in Town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Loukumami is a new place in Athens. They make 3 variations of basicaly the same thing:

1. Greek traditional Loukoumades
2. Churros (Spanis version)
3. Beignets (French Version).

Then, they build on these as a base. Thus, you can have:

1. Just plain with sugar and cinammon
2. With chocolate (4 different kinds) to dip in!
3. Filled with chocolate (only large Churros and Beignets) or Cream (strawbery) and then topped with chocolate!!

The most important thing of course is the base material, and in this they do an excellent job. Well fried, with no excess oil. Probably the best place in Athens for this specific food (most places they fry them in bad quality oil). Clean place, very friendly and polite staff.

Recommended definetely for a taste of something different.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loukumami also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Loukumami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loukumami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.