We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value at Centrally-Located Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fresh Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Fresh Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Sofokleous Str., Athens 10552, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 324 hotels in Athens
Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Value at Centrally-Located Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived at Fresh Hotel tired and hungry from a very long ferry ride through the Cyclades Islands on our way to Athens. The staff there made us feel right at home from the beginning. As it was our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a high-floor suite that gave us a soaker tub and separate living room - very much appreciated!

This hotel has all of the modern touches and design that one has come to expect from boutique, style-forward hotels, at a very reasonable price. It offers excellent value to travelers.

The rooftop bar and restaurant also has a good selection of cocktails and drinks, but what really makes it awesome is the view. It might be the best of the Acropolis and town centre that you can get in the city.

As for the hotel's location, we had absolutely no problems with it whatsoever. Now, I'm from a very large urban city myself, so that may have had something to do with it, but the area around the hotel did not seem unsafe to me. Yes, the streets north of the hotel are rundown and impoverished, but there is a difference between rundown and dangerous. We walked around at night without any problems. A great plus about this hotel's location is it's proximity to Athens' Central Market, which is a must-visit for any food lover. It also only took us about 20 minutes of leisurely walking to reach the Acropolis.

The breakfast at the hotel, which was included in our rate, was excellent. When we had to leave early the next day to catch our flight, they gave us "breakfast to go" instead.

The bottom line is that Fresh Hotel offers up modern, hip rooms with great amenities and service. It all totals up to a high value experience for the price they charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor. This will get you high enough to avoid noise on the street, while k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    459
    102
    25
    14
See reviews for
141
463
84
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked Fresh Hotel for our last two nights in Athens after staying at the Hilton for our first two nights a couple of weeks earlier. It was booked out so we searched tripadvisor for a good alternative. We lucked out with Fresh. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. The rooftop bar was great - with a stunning view, and the location led us to a really interesting part of Athens. Yes, perhaps you wouldn't wander alone too late at night but during the day and the evening it is really fine. The food markets around the corner were fascinating and the Plaka and other good shops and streets are minutes away. The view of the Acropolis from our room was partial but we could see most of it, and the terrace at night showcased the whole of it. We were on the 8th floor and I'd suggest trying for the 7th as there was a little noise from the rooftop (9th floor) but it didn't keep us awake. The breakfast buffet is excellent and a real bonus. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: The 8th floor was a little noisy so if possible ask for a slightly lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Fresh hotel had a great breakfast and the best part is it's included in the price of the hotel. The hotel was a very good value for the money. It included a huge breakfast with fresh squeeze orange juice (squeezed right before your eyes). There also was a roof top pool and restaurant with a view of the acropolis, which was a great place to relax after a day of sight seeing. The rooms were small but were comfortable, clean and quiet. The metro and most of the tourist sights are within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Within walking distance of Central Market and Monastiraki, there are many places to stop for espresso or baklava, on your way to the sites! The Hotel is located for easy access to the Acropolis & Museum, National Archaeological Museum, and Agora, how wonderful they all were. Just be careful crossing the streets. We spent 4 nights here and although the rooms are small it was all we needed. The upstairs pool in late afternoon is very relaxing, and bar/restaurant are perfect in the evening for a cocktail while looking at the Acropolis and stars. We spent a day to Hydra which was very gave you a nice feel for the islands.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresh36, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Fresh Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest,
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Athens and we appreciate that you took the time to write your kind review on Fresh Hotel! We hope to have you back, the next time you visit our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Modern hotel in Psirri district. It is a good hotel for the price (If there was a 3.5, would have rated it that.) For us, we only spent two nights here at the beginning of a 2 week vacation, so didn't want to spend top $ on this hotel. Small rooms, bathroom with not much storage space, nothing fancy, but you come here for the rooftop bar/lounge ( great place to rest after walking the sites), the very reasonable rates, and the proximity to major sites.Very fun rooftop bar, nice loungey but comfortable atmosphere, with (slightly obstructed) view of Acropolis. Very good breakfast spread:great yogurt, fruit and veggies, tomatoes, feta and dolmas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The location is excellent, halway between Omania and Monostriiki metro stops, so you have a nonstop to either the port or the airport. The hotel itself is close enough to the ancient center that we just walked to the sites. The room is very comfortable with a nice shower. The breakfast is excellent. It has all the usual American/Continental choices as well as sauteed mushrooms, cooked zucchini and tomatoes etc. Also fresh squeezed orange juice(!) The rooftop bar/lounge/swimming pool is fantastic with a lovely view of the Acropolis. It has a great vibe day or night, ahd the drinks are reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have now stayed at the Fresh Hotel 6 times in the past 4 years, so you could say it is my hotel of choice while visiting Athens. This is quite unusual for me, as I usually like to try out other venues/areas, for no other reason than just a change. I have also stayed at the Diamond Hotel, the Arios Hotel, Attalos Hotel and the Central Hotel , also 1 night at the Titania ( see reviews) However, the Fresh is still my favourite. The price is very good value for money ( I always book direct with hotel thru their own website) and I find the location to be ideal for my needs, which is to be close to restaurants, public transport, sights, shops etc. That it's not right in the 'heart' of the tourist area is to me a plus, as the surrounding area is full of interesting cafes, bars, shops, markets etc, frequented by locals. The Fresh bedrooms, while a little small by Australian standards, are spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds and smart functionable furnishings. Wifi is good throughout the hotel, though sometimes can be a little slow.
I notice that some reviewers make mention of the 'dodgy area' around the hotel, and this is somewhat true to some extent, but as long as you remember to turn left as you leave the hotel, and walk 50 metres up to Athinas Street, then you'll not have any problem..... just don't turn right at the corner, and make the mistake of walking down the street, at least not at night. ( I did wander down the street one morning, (accompanied by a friend) out of curiosity, and while I never feel threatened, it just isn't a very pleasant area, it's run down and populated by many immigrants from Africa, Middle East, South Asia etc.)
I always find the front counter staff at the Fresh to be most helpful and friendly, and always willing to assist with any request. A special mention must go to Effie and Yiorgas on the evening shift, who go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
If you ask for a room on a high floor, and are lucky enough to get a room *05, *06 or *07, then you'll get a large balcony with a great unimpeded view looking west over the city.... and great sunsets! On the 8th floor though, which is the highest floor with rooms, the sounds and music from the rooftop bar can be a problem at night, especially at weekends when it goes on till 1:30 am. But this is Athens, and you'll probably still be out ( or in the rooftop bar) at this time anyway.
I presume that breakfast is always included in the room price, as the staff at the breakfast room never question you as to which room you are staying in. The freshly squeezed orange juice served at the buffet is a wonderful touch, and a pleasant surprise, especially when compared with the usual 'Orange Cordial' served up in many hotels in Athens. The breakfast room is large, airy and spacious, and the buffet has all the usual offerings, and the staff are efficient. The only complaint I have ( and it's a minor one) is that there is still no facility to order freshly cooked eggs. Your only choice is from the bain-marie, which has fried eggs, scambled eggs, boiled eggs and even omellette 'slices', but after they have been sitting there for a while, they dont always look that appetising.
Overall, I really like the 'ambience' at the Fresh, from the downstairs lobby and reception area, the breakfast room, to the Rooftop Bar and restaurant. I still haven't used the pool though, and had no idea till now, that they even had a fitness centre. Maybe next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fresh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresh Hotel

Address: 26 Sofokleous Str., Athens 10552, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#28 Business Hotel in Athens
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fresh Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown in the heart of Athens, Fresh Hotel is a stylish, urban resort, with unconventional atmosphere, cool and thoughtful service. With simple lines and vivid colors in a minimalist, sleekly designed sanctuary, the Hotel surrounds guests in absolute calm. The joy of life takes on a new meaning in Fresh Hotel. The Fresh Hotel is located right in the heart of Athens, next to the beautiful town hall, and only a few minutes walk from Syntagma Square and the old market place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Fresh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fresh Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.