We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel in slightly edgy area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Fresh Hotel to your Saves list
Fresh Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Sofokleous & Kleistenous Street, Athens 10552, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 323 Hotels in Athens
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel in slightly edgy area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This is really an excellent boutique hotel. As long as you can handle the slightly rough and tumble nature of the neighborhood that it is in (we had no troubles but this is not an elegant part of town), this is great value for money. Playfully decorated, the hotel looks good and has a light and colorful contemporary feel. The staff are super friendly and very nice. Our room was on the smaller side but it was fine and the bed was comfy. We did not experience noise from the bar/restaurant - we were on the 7th floor. Awesome Korres products were provided in the bathroom - these were much appreciated and good to see local Greek companies being championed. The breakfast is particularly delicious and the fresh orange juicer is a nice and unusual touch. The breakfast room is also beautifully decorated. When we were there, Xmas decorations were up and this was very nice. There is a small, clean and modern gym which I used and was quite happy with. All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    515
    116
    29
    14
See reviews for
165
514
90
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed at the Fresh hotel, room 615 (Dec 2nd – 5th) and what can we say – it was great !

The staff - was always helpful with restaurants tips, help and information- thank you again if you are reading this:)

We got a room with a balcony on the 6th floor, facing the street –perfect and Korres bathing gels, shampoos and lotions are provided -what else can you ask for.

The roof top offers a nice restaurant with an outside lounge and a great view of the city – Acropolis included and the roof top pool which looked inviting but was too cold to use.

Will stay there again for sure.

Efxaristo!

Room Tip: room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washignton, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We spent four nights (2 separate visits of 2 nights) at the Fresh Hotel in Athens while on our trip to Greece. The hotel is very nice, with modern elements and nice amenities, including free Wi-Fi. The rooftop bar is beautiful with a great view to the city and a decent view to the Acropolis (there's a building on the way). The hotel offers complimentary breakfast, which is very good. They offer a good selection of juices, fruits, pastries, and hot and cold dishes. The rooms were nice, spacious, and very clean. The view from the two rooms we stayed in were not great, but that's okay as we were out in the city most of the time or in the hotel's rooftop when there.

The location is convenient for setting off for sightseeing during the day and going to dinner at night. We read a lot about the location being shady. It's true that the immediate area is not pretty and that there's graffiti and some garbage bags along the sidewalks. But that's not any different than what you'll see in some streets in the Lower East Side, Grenage Village, or Meatpacking areas in NYC. If you're from a big city, you won't think twice about it. Use a little common sense and you'll be fine. My girlfriend and I had no issues walking to/from Plaka for dinner at night.

The staff was nice and helpful. In one of our check outs, there was a taxi strike and we had to get a private car to the airport. They helped us out in allowing us to bill the car to the room.

The only complaint that we have is that they were not consistent with the welcoming. The first time we checked in, they gave us a complimentary water bottle and some sweets in the room. When we came back a week later, we didn't get anything. Bummer! But everything else was fine.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Fresh Hotel. We'd stay there again and recommend to anyone going to Athens.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

A great choice in Athens, in a cool part of town with lots going on. The rooms are minimalist but smart with very comfortable beds, great pillows and linen, ultra-modern bathrooms with Korres toiletries and small balconies. A nice breakfast buffet with a selection of hot items (eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, etc) plus the famed "orange squishing machine" which is always full of fruit and was well used while we were there! The bar on the 9th floor, with views over the whole city and the Acropolis, is spectacular, and the cocktails are very well made. The pool looked great (was too cold to use it while we were there) and I'd imagine this would be quite a hot spot during the warmer months. Friendly service, too. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Great location, walking distance to Acropolis, near the public market and a great rooftop patio with panoramic views of the city, as room views are of backs of buildings and alleys. Small but clean rooms, not many in room amenities (including no english TV channels) but comfortable beds and excellent front desk service. Good variety at breakfast included in room price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

Excellent choice, very nice and interesting hotel at the center of Athens. Very nice modern rooms. The only problem is the location of the hotel and the area near

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I'm one of these fussy people that can let little annoyances get to me. But at Fresh it was the little things that made me happy. The room was clean; décor was simple, funky, modern; toiletries were gorgeous; breakfast was excellent; the gym was decent and the staff were AMAZING.

Heaps of people here seem concerned about the location. I was really happy with it. It was very central with great views of the Acropolis, easy access to restaurants and close to the metro/airport train. I'm a petite female and had no problems walking around at night - although I did avoid the somewhat ominous dark alleyways next to the hotel.

If I HAD to find a couple of criticisms they would be that the hotel meals are a little pricey (but not ridiculously so) and sauna/steam rooms didn't seem to be operating.

In summary, I loved it here. I feel really grateful for the great service and I will DEFINITELY stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fresh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresh Hotel

Address: 26 Sofokleous & Kleistenous Street, Athens 10552, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#31 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fresh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown in the heart of Athens, Fresh Hotel is a stylish, urban resort, with unconventional atmosphere, cool and thoughtful service. With simple lines and vivid colors in a minimalist, sleekly designed sanctuary, the Hotel surrounds guests in absolute calm. The joy of life takes on a new meaning in Fresh Hotel. The Fresh Hotel is located right in the heart of Athens, next to the beautiful Town hall, and only a few minutes walk from Syntagma Square and the old market place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fresh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fresh Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.