We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hytra

Hytra
107-109 Syggrou, Athens, Greece
+30 21 0331 6767
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #296 of 2,383 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $45 - $84
Cuisines: Organic, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tasos Mantis and Chrysanthos Karamolegos, under one roof, creating the ultimate concept restaurant. The way of absolute culinary delight is already paved the sixth floor of the House. Two great chefs, two different routes can boost your senses. Greek creative cuisine of high standards by chef Tassos Mantis. In the same area you will find a Greek bistro, Hytra Apla edited the renowned chef Chrys Karamolegos, one of the pioneers of the New Greek Cuisine. The unique innovative touches give the classic taste a modern touch full of imaginative surprises. As for the summer, the only competitor of the two great chefs Hytra Apla the view from the terrace of the House.
Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

One of the best restaurants in Athens. It was our second time there, the first in their new location though. Breathtaking view of Athens and the Acropolis, from the roof of a building of amazing architecture. Gourmet cuisine, very good wine list, experienced and helpful staff, a sommelier with whom you could have a really interesting conversation about wine. We would definitely recommend, provided that one knows the cuisine this restaurant has to offer as well as that one is aware of the fact that the check would be higher than usual, not overpriced for a gourmet restaurant though.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    36
    14
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“One of best restaurants we ever been in...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We've been to half a dozen Michelin starred restaurants but this one has to be one of the best if not the best we've visited.
We went for the tasting menu which effectively amounted to 10 courses (including various amuse bouche) costing €140 including two glasses of wine each.
Service was very friendly and very relaxed.
The restaurant at the start of March 2012 moved from 7 Navarhou Apostoli in the central Psirri area to the 6th floor of the Onassis Cultural Center 107-109 Syngrou Avenue (a block away from the Intercontinental Hotel). This new location will be the permanent location from now on.
The chef Nikos Karathanos won the Michelin star for the restaurant in 2009 and from our experience will hold it for many years to come!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

great plates, very popular , at summer time is in Westin Athens with breathtaking view, and all that at reasonable prices

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Greek plates with a twist!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We visited the restaurant during the christmas holidays period and we really enjoyed our dinner. A small warm hall nicely decorated and a small menu, consisting in its majority of traditional greek plates with a more modern approach. We tried from the appetizers the frumenty with gnocchi of mizithra and caramelized chicken skin and the hot dog, from the main dishes the red mullet cooked on its scales (signature dish of Martin Berastegui, trainer of Hytra’s current chef) and the pork on a virtual charcoal crust and from the deserts a cinnamon tart and a rice pudding flavored with mastic and accompanied by mandarin sorbet. All dishes were very tasty, well portioned and eye appealing. The total cost of the dinner together with two glasses of wine was 140 €. The restaurant is easily approached by public means of transport but don’t try it by car!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vari Attica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Greek flavours in a modern way*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Dining in a restaurant like "Hytra" is a unique experience. Excellent flavour, with excellent service, combined with excellent details. Maitre's guidance and Sommellier's suggestions accompanied our Degustation from starters to dessert! Greek delicacies cooked and pressented in a modern way, like soup with Trachana or Moussaka!!! There is luck of words when you want to express your graritude to the inspired Chief and his team*****

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hytra also viewed

Athens, Attica
Piraeus, Piraeus Region
 

Been to Hytra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hytra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.