We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing company !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Free Walking Tour

Athens Free Walking Tour
Athens, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 221 Activities in Athens
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the city that has over 3000 years of history and discover all the facts, myths and secrets that you won’t find in your guidebook. Our English-speaking and French-speaking local experts will share their knowledge and passion of the city with you. Get an inside look at the Cradle of Western Civilization on foot and discover many of its hidden gems that tourist buses can’t reach.
Nice, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing company !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My fiance and I had a great time with Paul, our guide ! He knew a lot of things and was really open to questions. He dropped us off near the Acropolis and gave us advice for restaurants. He gave us two breaks during the tour when we could walk around so that was great.

I would highly recommend taking a tour with them to everybody I know.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    14
    4
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour, like walking with a group of friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Fantastic tour!! We met up at 10am with Paul who spoke terrific english, it was a small group because of the season but beautiful day for a walk, not busy at all. We saw all sights nearby, Paul was great at answering any questions we had in relatable detail, happy to stop if we wanted to pickup a souvenir or grab a photo and had lots of recommendations for us.

Thanks Paul for a terrific tour - highly recommended for anyone interested in Greece!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Excellent tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was an excellent tour! It started at 10am and actually lasted until 2pm! It was a perfect way to see the city - we saw all the main highlights and ended at the Acropolis. Our tour guide was phenomenal. He spoke perfect english and regaled us with stories about ancient and modern Greece. I would definitely recommend this tour again!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great waking tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Walking tour was great, informational, and good from an orientation perspective. We ended where we started by the new Acropolis museum.

1. Email them to confirm times/availability.
2. Show up at designated spot at appointment time -- yellow mailbox by the Acropolis museum.
3. Go on tour.

Paul was my tour guide and luckily it was just me who showed up (new years day so probably people were not up to making it to a waking tour). Kept a good pace, provided a ton of information, advice for/around Athens, and answered my questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A fantastic way to see all the major sights and learn about the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our tour started at 10 a.m. and lasted for about 3 hours. Sound exhausting? Its not at all! Our guide, Walter, took us on a very mild pace walk. Stops to explain items are very frequent and you will be so enamored with the magnificent sights you won't even realize how much ground you have covered until its over!

Walter was very knowledgeable about the city and it's history and did a fabulous job of explaining it and answering our questions. He was also very flexible to each individual's needs within the group (7 in ours that day) for things such as stopping for pictures, breaks, walking pace, etc. He is very likable and easy to understand. A fantastic aspect to the tour is that breaks are factored into the time and route. There are plenty of opportunities to grab a drink, snack, or use the restroom at various locations.

The amount of things that you learn and see on the tour make the time investment completely worth it. You could spend hours reading up on Athens' history and the individual structures, but you would still miss something. We would have certainly missed out on many things had we not attended!

The tour is free of charge, although tips are appreciated. The enjoyment of the tour made that a no-brainer! It is recommended that you book in advance as well. There are other tour guides besides Walter, and I have no doubt that they do a fantastic job as well.

I would highly recommend you take this tour if you plan on visiting Athens!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Free Walking Tour also viewed

 

Been to Athens Free Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Free Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.