We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the young at heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Circus Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added City Circus Athens to your Saves list
City Circus Athens
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Sarri 16 | Psirri, Athens 10553, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Groton, MA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“For the young at heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

January sunshine made for beautiful weather and no crowds. Loved our stay for the reasons stated elsewhere: friendly, CLEAN, roof view, location, homemade breakfast buffet, helpful. Hip vibe in boutiquey neiborhood, but also friendly to this middle aged mother and her son. 5 nights in room 103. Quiet except fir and sat street noise. Nondas is a gem and gave great advice on taking metro and ferry to Aegina for perfect day trip. 32 km round trip of spectacular biking on quiet road to hilltop ruins was heaven.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    27
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
47
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was super satisfied. This hostel is clean, cosy and has really unique atmosphere! And you can see Acropolis from its roof! :-) I also appreciated the possibility of having my laundry done (for 7,5 euros if I remember correctly).

Room Tip: I was in the room with 6 beds. It was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I loved my stay at City Circus. Great location for sightseeing in Athens. The breakfast is wonderful and the hostel is very clean. My friend and I stayed for two nights after a flight from the US. We stayed in the downstairs private room and it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed in both the private double and mixed dorm - very comfortable, clean and well equipped. Hosts are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and help you out local information. Public areas are comfortable, well equipped and very social. Breakfast's are amazing!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great location 5-10mins walk from Monastiraki metro station and not far from the central sights of Athens, good places to eat, cool cafes, shopping. The graffitied back streets (full of empty or boarded up businesses) seem a bit creepy when they're empty at night but I think it's pretty safe. The building and rooms have great security. The staff are young, funky, patient and helpful - with great English. The hostel is more like a mini hotel; I paid 80 Euros for a private double room with balcony, ensuite and breakfast, which I thought was great. The Danish style decor and kooky little touches were appealing and inviting. The light-filled, huge open plan dining/lounge at reception was a lovely place to hang out and the breakfast was sensational (with a damn good espresso available for 1 Euro). Found City Circus on Trip Advisor under 'other' accom and was very happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I spent 4 nights in City Circus in a 4 bed girl's room and was amazed with the groovy and comfortable location (only 15 minutes walk from the important sights), the retro-like design, the breakfast and most important - the staff who was friendly, patient and always with a smile. I didn't even need to visit the tourist information because they knew exactly what to recommend in Athens and its surroundings. Really enjoyed it and will get back here next time when I'm in Athens!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at City Circus, short but very sweet. The hosts are wonderful and provide you with great local recommendations for restaurants, sites to see, etc. As for restaurants, ask them! We wasted way too much time wandering around trying to find restaurants highlighted in my guidebook only to find them closed or major tourist traps. We went to a great neighborhood spot recommended by the owner the first day and were really happy with it.

The walk from the Monastiraki metro stop (coming from the airport) and Thissio (coming from the port) were quick and safe (in my opinion). The areas to/from are definitely urban and might be a little bit intimidating to those not used to a city environment (i.e.: graffiti, abandoned buildings, young people hanging out outside, etc) but we loved it and never felt unsafe. Psyrri is filled with bars, restaurants and is perfectly convenient to all of the historic sites you're most likely planning to see. We walked EVERYWHERE, including the Acropolis, Central Market, National Gardens, Lycabettus hill, National Archaeology Museum/Exarchia (all highly recommended).

The hotel/hostel itself is fantastic- creatively decorated and serving a really wonderful and complete breakfast with homemade products from the islands and family farms. You sit at a communal table and there are really interesting art and travel books waiting for you to peruse.

We stayed in the budget double- 60Euro/night with a private bathroom. It's very clean and has everything you need. Light sleepers, take note: One window faces the street and the other opens up to the stairway to the lobby. All this to say that at night it can be a bit loud so wear earplugs and/or turn the fan on.

So for those looking for a cool travel experience complete with a great breakfast, helpful staff and solid location, stay at City Circus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Circus Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Circus Athens

Address: Sarri 16 | Psirri, Athens 10553, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Circus Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Circus is an alternative travelers space for the restless voyager, the escape artist, the acrobat. It's in the heart of Athens, in the hip Psirri neighborhood, beside numerous eateries and watering holes and a short walk from worthwhile sites. City Circus is in a 4-story, restored early 20th century mansion, complete with fresco-ed ceilings, wrought-iron balconies and baroque tiles. We’ve dressed it up with vintage furniture, reclaimed materials, modern design elements and street art by a selection of fresh local talent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your City Circus Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Circus Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.