We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beginning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Food Tours

Athens Food Tours
Korai 4, Athens 10564, Greece
+30 21 0884 7269
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #33 of 154 activities in Athens
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy this small group tour, in the non-touristy area of Athens and acquaint yourself with Greek local products and cuisine in the company of your food specialist guide. Seize the opportunity to taste a wide variety of Greek delicacies ranging from the mouth-watering sweet and syrupy "loukoumades" to traditional "bougatsa" or the savoury "pastourma", feta cheese and famous Greek olives among others.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent beginning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Athens and let me tell you, "it's all Greek to me" is an understatement. This food tour was a great way to get into the culture and figure out what to eat for the remainder of the trip. Artemis, our tour guide, was great and very helpful all the way through. Small group size was both intimate and kept the pace going. We are a family of 4 with a teenager and a a preteen and we all enjoyed the local food and experience very much!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    12
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great way to start a trip to Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We just got into Athens yesterday and wanted to start of our trip a little differently--the Athens Food Tour was a great way to do that. We got to taste a little bit of a lot of things, see some great local markets and get some great pictures. The group was only 6 of us, which was a great size.Artemis was a great guide--friendly and knowledgable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You are what you eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Simply phenomenal experience. The tour provided a wonderful blend of history and modern Greek culture through food exploration. Delicious! This tour gives you the chance engage in the culture of Athens in a way not found in the tourist district and to learn what the customs of the people are really like.
I would recommend doing the tour early in your trip as it will inform you of some great local places to enjoy throughout the rest of your time in the city.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“There's more to Athens than Souvlaki and Gyros!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Artemis is a wonderful tour guide! She brought us to places we would never have thought of visiting, We were able to taste Greece in all its authencity. She also had tons of interesting information about the origins of the foods we were tasting.
George from the grocery store was a product pro, explaining and allowing us to taste a few of the rare products they carry. Maria from the Tavern was gracious and we look forward to having dinner at her tavern later! (we purchased the food tour with lunch). All the places we were brought to were very welcoming!
We are very happy that we decided to take this tour. We learned and tasted so much!
THANK YOU, ARTEMIS! =)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Tasty Tour...Well Worth the Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Took my family on this half-day tour while in Athens over Spring Break...even my 12-year-old son had a great time. As other posters have noted, this is a wonderful change from the typical architecture and history tours that one gets a lot of in Athens. Artemis, our guide, led us on an adventure of the living culinary history of Greece, going to places most tourists never get to see. The walking is not too strenuous and there were plenty of opportunities to sit down and rest if needed. The price of the tour included many opportunities to taste authentic local food and drink, as well as typical Greek products from all across the country. Make sure to save room for the bougatsa at the last stop!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Athens Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Food Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Athens Food Tours to your Saves list