We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, seedy surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ionis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ionis Hotel to your Saves list
Ionis Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Halkokondili St, Athens 10432, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 323 Hotels in Athens
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good hotel, seedy surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Once inside the Ionis Hotel, it is a very pleasant place. The rooms are large, with balconies to sit and watch the weird goings on in the street below. The breakfasts are a delight. The staff are helpful and the rooms are clean. Sadly, the street in which the hotel stands is seedy, even by Omonia Square standards! I'd still recommend this hotel for seasoned travellers, and for couples - but for a woman on her own, it's a rather daunting experience getting back to the hotel entrance late in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors - the lower floors are inhabited by school trips and unive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    29
    38
    25
    21
See reviews for
11
34
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

We have really enjoyed staying in the Hotel Ionis and we have been here for a couple of weeks now. OK the streets around are unpleasant, but once inside the hotel is clean, friendly and excellent value. The breakfast is very good.

The location is the major drawback and late at night there is a feeling of 'running the gauntlet' on the last few streets. That said nothing bad has happened to us. There are far worse areas in any big city.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The room was well cleaned and linen changed daily. The front desk was very helpful. You feel a bit unsafe since you can see the prosstitudes and drug addicts roam around. Otherwise the place is well worth of money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

walking into a convenience store less than fifty metres away from the ionos hotel, a woman approached me and my three friends and told us that we should be wary of our bags, money and documents because we were in a dangerous area. walking back from our search for rations, so as to not have to leave the room again for the next three days, a friend began to wander past a group of less than friendly/healthy looking ladies. worried that she would be dismembered we quickly ushered her back to safety, alas, the women had laid eyes and followed us until we were well out of eyeshot. not a great introduction to omonia, especially for four young teenage girls who were travelling alone. the windows, thankfully have two thick protective outer casings to protect the room from those who would see the ledge extending from the wall, an appropriate invitation to rob the room blind. the room is adequate, however this is overshadowed by the less than safe vibe the area emanates. the scenery from our window seems to be stolen from both baghdad and slumdog millionaire, complete with loud indian music and squealing babies. after being at the ionos hotel for five hours fridge filled with survival supplies, i have already started searching for more hospitable and less life threatening accommodation. if you have a suicide wish, come on down

Room Tip: don't come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

the breakfast alone was worth the very reasonable price, of course a few migrants and hookers, but like stray dogs i left them alone and they left me alone. I didnt feel anymore unsafe than new york or london, and reading other reviews no one said they were actually mugged.All of athens smells either of urine or teargas, i,ve known cleaner cities .so omonia square no different.useful jumping off points to everywhere

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Just got back from a trip to Athens,The city is very nice and full of history. Before booking the ionia hotel on Expedia.com i wanted to read reviews on this site, some people said to stay away from this hotel and area and i was like how bad could it be in a city like Athens? So i went ahead and booked my trip. When i got to Athena i spent some time in the city center and found it very nice, But once i got off the Omonia station to walk to the hotel i was shocked!!! The area was full of hookers, junkies and dealers. Now, during the day it wasn't very bad since there were alot of people on the streets, But once it gets dark you will find yourself walking among hookers, junkies and dealers smelling urine every now and then like as if you are in that area trying to score something!!!
I wasn't afraid since i'm a big and heavily tattooed guy, but a female or a family with kids will have to be extra careful.
Walking back to the hotel trough this area ruined my hole experience, after all who wants to see junkies and hookers after seeing the Acropolis and the nice cafes???
The hotel is OLD, very basic. The street facing side is very noisy specially at night since there are gambling shops and wired looking man standing there all night and talking weird languages( kurdish,Gypsy) while the hookers get in and out of corner alleys after shooting heroine.
The bathroom is tiny, i had to squeeze myself between the door and the sink to shut the door. The room is relatively clean though. The Free wifi and breakfast was nice. the front reception guy could care less if you asked him something and he was smoking right at the desk. Find something else near the center or the suburbs, you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: the street facing side is loud all day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misha098
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011 via mobile

Initially we had booked to stay at Apollo hotel through expedia when we arrived the manager said we are being upgraded to a better hotel - ionis.
Service has been amazing they are very helpful even assisting where we can pick up our ferry at night.
The area - I would not feel safe walking around after dark. Lots of people loitering around. Close to sights.
Room - only reasonably clean.
Great hotel if u don't want to spend much time here.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ionis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionis Hotel

Address: 41 Halkokondili St, Athens 10432, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 323 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ionis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ionis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ionis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.