We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get lost for a day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka

Plaka
The Plaka | 7kapnikareas&Metropoleos Street/Athens, Athens 10556, Greece
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$74*
and up
Private Walking Tour: The Acropolis
Ranked #15 of 178 Attractions in Athens
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Historic neighborhood located at the base of the hill topped by the Acropolis.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to get lost for a day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Came to Athens on a whim. Asked all the locals were they went to eat and shop, They told us to go down to The Plaka. We took a cab down and told him to drive us to the Plaka. He sort of chuckled and said ok. He dropped us off sort of in the middle. We started walking around and were fasinated with the buidlings the people and the overall feel of the place. My wife and friend went shopping while me and the boys enjoyed a few cold beers sitting in an outdoor cafe taking in the sights. This is a must stop even if you are only passing through town on a cruise or bus trip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,813
    1,187
    272
    42
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bottom of a mountain Scotland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We loved this place, full of tiny shops stalls and cafes, it was so atmospheric. We had the best lunch ever here, fantastic place we hope to return to.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

One of my favorite places to go to in Athens. have a drink after shopping and people watch. Try to avoid the touristy restaurants as the are not as good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Shop till you drop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Absolutely loved plaka, such a great place to shop. If your not much of a shopper don't worry there are plenty of places to eat, grab a drink or have a pastry. There is stuff everywhere on all the streets, its a place that you could get lost in easily but that's half the beauty of it. Sometimes you find the best places by getting lost. Take the time to have a meal off the beaten track you will get great real Greek food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This place is just cool, hippie and colorful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

First let me say "I LOVE THIS LITTLE TOWN" Plaka is one of the coolest places I've been. The streets are unique and splendid. The little shops are just cool and they have many things available that are authentic from Greece. Overall I really enjoyed the colorful clothings hanging outside and hippie stores. Great place!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaka also viewed

 

Been to Plaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.