We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick visit before a cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King George A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
King George A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Vasileos Georgiou A' St. | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece (Syntagma)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Quick visit before a cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel was chosen for us but sure we wouldn't have found anywhere nicer or better located. Excellent breakfast too.
Walked from there to see many of Athens sights> Enjoyed the views from room and dining room.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    55
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
155
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have been in Travel Industry since 15 years as hotelier and travel agent and have not been to such a hotel in my life so far. As from the arrival till the departure our stay was just perfect. Welcoming was very good at the reception. The staff is very professional and warm at the same time. When I order something in the restaurant, the staff thanks me for ordering:) Amazing:) As for the location wise, it could not be better than this in Athens.

Room Tip: We asked for the best view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were in Athens for a very delicate family matter but our stay turned out to be a very relaxing break-out. Staff is wonderful, attentive and efficient. We had booked a deluxe double room with view but because it was not ready when we arrived we were upgraded to a junior suite. The suite was excellent, with comfortable bed and very good quality linen. Great bathroom with luxurious bath amenities. Fantastic rooftop reastaurant, we had dinner and breakfast. Top dishes!
Overall a really great stay! Thank you guys!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Arrived in the evening and met by a friendly but still efficient check in. Enough information but sensitive to our tiredness and allowed us get to our room.
We had reserved a deluxe room and requested a nice view if possible and ours was on the 5th floor facing the main square with views of the Parliament Building and the Acropolis. The room was not large but as our stay progressed we were more than happy if the trade off was view or room size.
A great buffet breakfeast where the service from the manager to all staff was exemplary, where if you requested anything (oats/carrot juice/cappuccinos they would try and accommodate.
At reception we then voiced a few issues- One lamp in Venetian ceiling chandelier was not working (changed on our return), No tea/coffee facilities ("on request"- tray and supplies provided, Balcony doors locked ("for safety but on request can be opened" (accessed on return and for our stay), No internet in room ("not part of rate, but free in lobby and restaurant" ( SPG website- from now they are including inroom internet at all properties!)
Some quickies- Iphone docking on bedside radio/BBC World on TV/Magnifying shaving mirror/ quality sheets and comfortable bed/plenty of towels and hot water in marble featured bathrooms.
Excellent service and facilities that are high standard and work. Would definitely recommend a stay and look forward ourselves to returning. The area around the hotel has a lovely high class European feel and we have a few sights and museums that remain to be visited.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this wonderful review after your recent stay at the King George Hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If your destination is Athens,there is no second place that makes you feel like at home.Location is unbeatable ,staff is probably the best and more over I only saw smiling faces.Breakfast room is extraordinary and has a superb view of Acropolis and even House Keeping staff ..they were exceptional..Everyday they put something different as gift like chocolate,fruits,drinks and etc..Even the door man in front of the hotel so helpful and professional and I strongly recommend everyone visiting Athens to stay at here and feel the comfort and worry free holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are good I think ..
See more room tips
Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful and tastefully done up hotel located in the heart of Athens and beats to the buzz of Syntagma Square. All historic sites within walking distance. Cosy rooms with comfortable bed and good quality linen. Amazing view of the Acropolis from the roof top restaurant. Good service, friendly staff.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot fault this hotel- from the moment you walk through the door you are greeted by such wonderful and attentive staff. From start to finish- every person associated with the hotel could not do enough for me and my husband. the rooms are excellent, the restaurant is fabulous and the food is fantastic. the hotel is ideally situated for seeing and experiencing all that Athens has to show. The hotel itself is incredibly chic and it has been a real pleasure staying there- great job done by all concerned. Even the smallest detail is noted- the fact we arrived the day after my birthday was noted at check -in, and we were given a lovely bottle of wine as a thank you/ congratulations- nice touch!

Room Tip: room 714k was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King George A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 3 Vasileos Georgiou A' St. | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — King George A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your King George A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.