We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Hotel in Prime Position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added King George A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
King George A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Vasileos Georgiou A' St. | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Top Class Hotel in Prime Position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the King George for four nights in February and were vey pleased with the location as a base for walking the city and the amenities and service at the hotel. As far as location, it is perfectly placed as a walking base to see the main sites of the city. We had a 5th floor room with a great view of Syntagma square and the Acropolis. The road noise was not a concern this high up although we could hear a fair amount of noise on the Sunday evening when there was a huge political rally outside. This was mostly gone by 10:00pm and had completely dispersed by 11:00pm though. We were slightly concerned about the position of the hotel for this reason (some travel advice is to avoid the square during these turbulent political times), but there really was nothing to worry about even during the very crowded rally. At other times the square is nearly always milling with tourists and/or commuters and like all of Athens, is very safe. The patio doors are double glazed and have a security lock to prevent them opening more than a couple of inches, which was a disappointment until we asked at the front desk and they quickly sent someone to remove the lock.

Higher floors also have a great view of the changing of the guards at the tomb of the unknown soldier. If staying on a Sunday morning don't miss the special weekly 11:00am full display with marching band and parade - and make sure your door lock is off for this so you get a good view!

Our only slight complaint would be the price of the restaurant. We only ate here once but it seemed very over priced for the food they serve. For the cost of one main course here you can get a full meal for 2 almost anywhere in town - and the food is more authentic Greek. Service of course is excellent though and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast is excellent too, and there is a great view of the Acropolis from the roof top position of the restaurant.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are much quieter by everyone's account, but of course cost more because the Acropo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your feedback after your recent stay at the King George Hotel. We were delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Regarding your comments about the restaurant prices, we will of course discuss this with the Director of Restaurants who will take it into serious consideration. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    51
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
140
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just finished up a 3 day tourist stay of Athena. Easy to get to from the airport, my son and I took the Metro and it was less than an hour from Customs to our hotel room. It's right across the street from the Syntagma station. The hotel is in easy walking distance to the Acropolis and other tourist sites which makes it a great base of you want to utilize the room for rest breaks. As others have said all the staff is very nice and helpful. I did a points stay and thought the value was great. my gold status got me a 1 bedroom suite with some nice welcome amenities.
My one suggestion is if you want to sleep past 830 just put the do not disturb sign on the door as the cleaning staff starts early. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an amazing hotel! My husband and I spent one night here in September 2014, and had a wonderful experience. The room was very well appointed and extremely comfortable. We had a fantastic dinner on the roof overlooking the Acropolis. The hotel and restaurant service was impeccable from start to finish. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We with a family staid in this hotel already not for the first time. And as always it surpassed all expectations!
Fine service, very friendly and obliging personnel, beginning from the porter and finishing maids!
Though the hotel is on a central square of Athens, in numbers leaving in a courtyard absolutely silently. On a roof of hotel one of the best restaurants of the city with an excellent view of the Acropolis. I recommend to all who this remarkable place goes to Athens!

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In the center. Near everything else. Excellent good size rooms. Super friendly front desk team. Clean and classy.
Restaurant on the 7th floor has a wonderful view. The lounge on the 8th is nice and overall I like the whole place and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your recent stay at the King George hotel. It’s always nice to read such positive comments and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a wonderful stay at King George. The location was perfect for us. Situated at Syntagma square and walking distance to all the attractions. Wonderful views of the Acropolis from the restaurant. The staff is impeccable and attended to all our needs. I would like to single out Iosif and Sofia. They were wonderful to talk to and helpful with all our questions.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your review after your recent stay at the King George hotel. It is very rewarding to receive confirmation, in the form of positive feedback, that out efforts to offer an unforgettable experience have been successful. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

my 2nd time and one of the few hotels you would return simply because it offers everything you need and ithout pretending to be over the top. Perfect service from check in to check out. Restaurant and bar, a must experience and very good staff, well trained and proffesional.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King George A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 3 Vasileos Georgiou A' St. | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — King George A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King George A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.