We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George A Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added King George A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King George A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Vasileos Georgiou A' St. | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location. Walk to Acropolis, Plaka, etc. very friendly and efficient staff. Expensive but worth it if you want luxury. The Tudor Restaurant is very good with a full menu. Would definitely stay again. Only negative is the small gym and no pool.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    35
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
88
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is walking distance to Plaka and the acropolis, which was perfect as we only had one day to visit athens before heading to the islands

As SPG members we were upgraded to a suite which was beautiful. It had a separate living room and bedroom, beautifully decorated and great amenities. They had chocolates and liqueur waiting for us at arrival and champagne and strawberries before dinner since it was our honeymoon

The guy who checked us in walked us to our room himself and took his time explaining to us how to get to plaka and where to eat

At midnight we had a bit of a health crisis and the person at the front desk immediately found us 24 hour pharmacy and arranged a cab for us

We also had dinner at their restaurant which has incredible acropolis views, really good wine and delicious food. They gave us a table with an incredible view

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There are no words to describe how outstanding and luxurious this hotel is.

We visited Athens in early August with my husband before our greek island honeymoon trip.
The view to "sintagma" was amazing and the rooms were spaceful with very comfortable beds. The decoration was elegant and beautiful. The breakfast area was wonderful. I can't find anything negative to say about this place.

The location is amazing, close to best shops, museums and restaurants.

The staff of this hotel were professional and highly skilled. front desk was friendly and concierge service was really heplful.

Definately coming back to this place next time we visit Athens!!

Room Tip: Sintagma-view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. The rooms are beyond luxurious, the bathrooms are all marble, chandeliers in Venetian glass, beds incredibly plush, beautiful antique decorations. The products are Molton Brown and delightful. Our suite had a view of the acropolis and we were welcomed with an abundant fruit platter, chocolates, wine. Great stay!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night and really loved it. Actually, we would pick this hotel over the other one we stayed at earlier in our trip. We were upgraded to a suite, the room was so beautiful with an amazing view of the Acropolis. The front desk staff was great, the lobby and rooms are beautiful, and the location is ideal to walk anywhere in the city. There aren't that many amenities at this hotel, such as spa, pool, etc but you can use the facilities at the Grand Bretagne, which is right next door. I would highly recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I cannot say enough good things about the King George hotel in Athens. The rooms were phenomenal, with the best beds we had during our trip to Greece. The food was excellent and we enjoyed the 7th floor dining room with views of the Acropolis. The staff could not have been nicer or more knowledgeable. Overall an incredible experience. When I come back to Athens, I will definitely return to the King George!

Room Tip: Room 617K was a great room, off of the street so that it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed here for one night and it is an outstanding and unique hotel. The lobby is beautiful and the room so wonderfully decorated with unique greek artifact in glass cabinets in the room and gorgeous old maps on the walls - it really made you feel like you were in a palace surrounded by history.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and after 4 days in Santorini this was by far the best meal we had the entire trip and a fraction of the cost. The inside dining room resembles a palace state room and is just stunning, and the outside seating area has amazing views of the Parthenon lit up at night. starters, mains and desserts were outstanding and unique and we were so happy to finally get good quality food. Delicious wine recommendations and a friendly waiter were just icing on the cake.

The only disappointment we had was that we had seen a photo of a rooftop pool on the website, however this is just a pool for the penthouse suite! so there is no pool for regular guests of the hotel and you must go next door to use the spa. Regardless, it was still a wonderful luxurious stay and i would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King George A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 3 Vasileos Georgiou A' St. | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Business Hotel in Athens
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — King George A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your King George A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.