We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added King George A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
King George A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Vasileos Georgiou A' St. | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 326 Hotels in Athens
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here in 2 rooms and both were overlooking the square. The hotel rooms were very nice but the best part is the location of this hotel. It is right across the parliament, walking distance to the Panathenaic Stadium and the Acropolis and the Plaka district.

The restaurant on the top floor was excellent - great service and food. You get a fantastic view of the Acropolis from here so I would recommend dinner. The price was reasonable for a hotel of this caliber.

The gym was very small, but you can use the neighboring hotel's gym which I did not use.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    50
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
130
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Smack dab in the middle of Athens, The King George provides a great base for any trip in Athens. My family's stay was brief (2 nights) but the service we received in this beautiful hotel was beyond our expectations. Make sure you take time to have dinner or a drink in the Tudor restaurant, you will not be disappointed. And the view of the Acropolis is stunning!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Rey, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here for one night while transitioning to a cruise ship. It's not cheap, but everything was first class. The sold-out restaurant even accommodated us at a small table meant only for drinks, so we were able to dine on the superb cuisine with a view of the Acropolis. Nice room and attentive, helpful staff. The location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at the King George hotel. It was a pleasure to read our review and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The first room we checked in had a distinct sewage smell in the bathroom. We closed the door hoping it would go away, but in the morning when we opened it, it was bad. They moved us to a better room with the view of the square and that room was fine, although I could sense just a tiny whiff of the same smell once in awhile in the bathroom. They should really check their plumbing. Other than that and the fact that the razors the hotel provides are cheap and awful, it's a decent hotel. The gym is tiny and there is no spa, but they let you use the spa at the hotel next door, which is amazing. I would highly recommend spending a few hours there (the facilities are free). We stayed there for 5 nights with points, but I would not pay the money to stay there. If cost is not a concern for you, by all means, stay in King George. Just make sure to smell-test the bathroom area before you say yay to the room.

Room Tip: If you pay to stay there, may as well add some to have a room with the view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your review after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. This is certainly not indicative of the usual high standards of the Luxury Collection and for that we are truly sorry. The issue has been discussed with the Engineering Manager and the Executive Housekeeper in order to make sure this does not reoccur. Hopefully we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The King George is small and gorgeous, beautifully appointed hotel with lovely spacious rooms. Much smaller but just as luxurious and a little less fussy in style than the Grande Bretagne, the friendly staff sets this hotel apart. Our teenage son left some Pierre Herme macaroons in the mini bar fridge of a room we vacated after the hotel offered us a free upgrade. By the time he remembered, someone else had checked in to that room and had the Do Not Disturb sign on their door. I know the staff tried to rescue the macaroons, intended for a young lady our son was wooing, but alas, the people in the room ate them. However, the hotel presented our son with a larger box of macaroons from Zonar's the next day. Now how's that for hospitality?! By the way, the less expensive rooms are in the back with windows on a courtyard, and are delightfully quiet, compared to the more expensive rooms on Syntagma Square with views of the Acropolis but a lot of traffic noise.

Room Tip: Go for the less expensive rooms with an atrium view which are quite spacious and very quiet. High f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagunakb
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. The rooms, the service, the upstairs restaurant. We used a guide that was recommended by the hotel, and she was great too. The Plaka was walking distance and we enjoyed seeing all of the attractions nearby, Since we had a short stay in Athens, we were able to get in most of the main sights.

Room Tip: We had room 205. A beautiful suite overlooking the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We were delighted to read about your positive experience and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I spent four nights here in May. It was our first visit to Athens and we wanted to be central to everything. If you are looking to staying in a high end hotel in the middle of town, this hotel can't be beat. Although the Hotel Bretagne next door is the more well known we preferred the King George because it just isn't as busy with people in and our. The rooms are stunning. Service is impeccable. And as we said, the location is perfect. One note though is if you are staying here make sure to head over to the rooftop bar at the Hotel Bretagne for a nighttime cocktail. The view of the Acropolis is to die for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King George A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 3 Vasileos Georgiou A' St. | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#5 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — King George A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King George A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.