We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel with awful coffee!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King George A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added King George A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
King George A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Vasileos Georgiou A' St. | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel with awful coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the end of a cruise. Had to walk the last 100m to reception from our transport because of a demonstration in the square outside. Check in was slow and tortuous, but our 6th floor room was luxurious with a very comfy bed, lovely linen and a massive well supplied bathroom. We dined at the Tudor hall restaurant on the 7th floor which overlooks the Acropolis, and watched the sun go down and the illuminated hill come to life - fantastic. Dinner food was superb although pricey. Staff were keen to please. Breakfast variety is good, served in the same place, but what awful coffee,- weak, cold, and nasty. Replaced graciously by the staff for piping hot weak nasty coffee. Went out to an adjacent coffee shop to get a fix of proper caffeine! The hotel has fast free wifi in the lobby. If you can avoid the coffee this location is a great central place to say to explore fascinating Athens

Room Tip: Ask for a high front room to see the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused upon check-in and the coffee at breakfast which was not to our satisfaction. We have discussed these issues with the Front Office Manager and the Assistant Restaurant Director in order to take corrective actions where necessary. We hope to be given the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    50
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
131
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had two stays at this hotel. From the get go, you know that you are in a 5 star establishment. The doorman greets you with a big smile, luggage is whisked away and seamlessly finds its way to your room. The front desk efficiently processes your stay and over time these people become the hotel's best ambassadors. Themis, who is the front desk manager and Sofia were extremely kind to us and of course it does not hurt that we were upgraded both times.

We had breakfasts upstairs on the 7th floor restuarant with the view of the Acropolis. You will enjoy Harry, the waiter, and make sure to have a cappuchino or two or three. Dinner is also excellent.

The sister hotel is the Grande Bretagne next door and we occasionally dined there as well ---also a very well run establishment.

Room service is very efficient and the people who answer the phone never sound like you are troubling them.

Beds, linen and pillows are high quality and very comfortable.

All in all, a highly enjoyable stay

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We were delighted that you truly enjoyed your time with us and had the opportunity to experience the Tudor Hall restaurant on the 7th floor, taking in the lovely views of Athens from above. Rest assured we will pass on the kind comments to the associates mentioned, who always strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. Looking forward to welcome you on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed with my wife last week in room 204 ,deluxe suite with balcony..
Beautiful room with best view of the parliament and syntagma square, very quiet.
Very good breakfast on the 7th floor with the acropolis vista. Very good tea and coffee on the afternoon .
But above off all the best service we had in a hotel ever.
From the bellboy to the receptionist and the waiters at the restaurant all of them where always with a smile and giving you the filling that you are welcome .
I must add that this was our general impression in Athens: nice people with a smile.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony are the best. Syntagma square is busy but the insulation is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you can afford staying here then go for it. It is also worth the extra 60 to 80 $ that you pay extra for staying at this hotel.
The best about this hotel are the staff who are all incredibly friendly and genuinely helpful
The room is of high quality standards and the location is the best. The food and service at the top restaurant is top notch.
The only thing I recommend them to do is to make it more lively in the lobby. It is now a big dead space.
While you are in Athens and you can still afford a nice dinner then you need to book at Funky Gourmet. Almost as good as visiting the Acropolis.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

first visit to athens as a special birthday suprise trip for my wife and although i had requested room with nice view with tour operator what we got was room 107 which is on the first floor facing into a very small dark courtyard hence you needed all room lighting on to see in the room which to be honest was dissapointing however the rest of the hotel made up for this
somewhat in that every comfort was supplied the bed very comfy,bathroom well equipped with luxury soaps shampoos everything to keep the ladies happy!well stocked mini bar and big soft towels and dressing gowns to finish things off.
The food at all meals is of the highest quality with ample of everything very well presented and little touches from the staff such as toast brought to your table extra tea bag in pot if you like it stronger and with a waiter such as Harry who remembers all your requirements and has such a great sense of humour breakfast is a delight and along with all the staff who are happy helpfull
they are a credit to this hotel,A small tip if you are a steak man try the rib eye it melts in the mouth and is very filling! This hotel reeks of style grandeur and class the furnishings everywhere are top drawer from the marble floors to the paintings and antiques it is in my humble opinion one of the best hotels we have had the pleasure of staying in and if we do return to athens this is where we will stay Thank you all for making our stay so memorable

Room Tip: upper floors to front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Luxurious high end hotel right in the city centre. Very comfortable and very classy rooms, in 19th style, great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. I would particularly recommend this to couples as it has a very romantic ambience.

Room Tip: Classy rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after recently staying at the King George hotel. It was a true pleasure to read that you had a nice stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have now stayed multiple times at the King George hotel. It is almost as good as the Grande Bretagne. Yet you can get better deals from King George, e.g., 25% cheaper. Clearly the location is as good. It is Syntagma Sq, which is well connected to the airport by both metro and coach (X95). It is of course well located with respect to main tourist sites such as the Acropolis, various museums and the Plaka district. The services are excellent. In fact, as a boutique hotel, you can more personal recognition, as you walk in and out of the hotel. The breakfast is very good. The rooftop at Grande Bretagne is better; but I take the cheaper deal :-) The rooms are well-kept and well-designed.

Room Tip: The rooms in the higher floors are brighter. This is to be expected. But it makes a significant diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your review after recently staying at the King George hotel. It was a pleasure reading your positive feedback and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King George A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 3 Vasileos Georgiou A' St. | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Business Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — King George A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your King George A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.