We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, good standards, nice service but a bit old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King George A Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added King George A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
King George A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Vasileos Georgiou A' St. | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 325 hotels in Athens
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Elegant, good standards, nice service but a bit old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed a couple of times in this hotel. Last time i booked the suite.
Upon check-in i was upgraded with a view (although im quite sure all suites have a nice view as there the biggest most expensive rooms).

The bathroom was very very beautiful, all marble, beautiful appliances, all marble, nice lighting, very nice Mugler cosmetics.

The room was quite spacious, very beautiful chandelier, nice soft dim lighting, mirrors around the bed(witch makes everything quite sexy). The furniture its quite old, stained or scratched though, looks a bit tiered but still classy.
I was disappointing in the mini bar, it was quite empty, nothing to eat, no chips, almonds etc. Although its not such a big problem as you can find around the hotel plenty of places to eat and mini markets.

The location of the hotel its very convenient, the best, in the heart of Athens. The trick is that if there is a strike all the square gets closed down and you cant find a taxi, you can just walk.

Rooms service its quite nice, i ordered a champagne and received a complimentary plate with salmon appetizers,

Overall a nice elegant hotel, good standards, they could just drop the price a little bit or make some smart offers.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better. Ask for Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    110
    28
    14
    9
See reviews for
64
245
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed her last month and was given a free upgrade to a deluxe room facing the Parliament Square. Room was great, clean service was excellent. I came back again a few days back and was given a room that was smaller than before. I asked if I could stay in the room I had before, they immediately did their best to accommodate me. I was surprised when they showed me my room which happened to be the junior suite. It was beautiful. I needed a toothbrush and adapter which I got in mins off asking. The breakfast is simply delicious. Such a variety and its all fresh. Once again all I can us that after shopping around for offers I am so glad I came here. The location is excellent too. The x95 bus from the airport costing €5 brings you just opposite the square. It's also the same bus that takes you. It's about a 50 min journey but well worth it. You save €35 doing it this way one way. Mc D's is seconds away which gives fast food for those hungry bellies that can't wait. Freshly squeezed orange juice next door. Shopping is on your doorstep and taxis are just outside. I hope this helps some of you. Enjoy xx

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice...but you do get complimentary wine in your room too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Lovely and quite elegant boutique hotel with breakfast overlooking Acropolis. Breakfast and Wifi included. Indoor pool too small to do laps but great gym and sauna. Perfect location to walk most places and across the street from metro. Gave us free upgrade upon arrival. Would go back again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

we had a suite at the King George and it was amazing with views over Syntagma square and the Acropolis which are fantastic especially at night when teh Acropolis lights up.

Unfortunately they have made some changes to the hotel which I believe have not enhanced it.
When I first stayed at the King George Palace, when you entered the hotel, you walked into a breataking lobby area which was realyl amazing and made such a statement in keeping with a hotel of this standing. They have ruined the lobby by cutting it in half and putting in a bar and the lobby area now is dreadful and very down market,
Also the room top restaurant which was all open now has a canopy which has ruined this beautiful space. i dont know why they made changes to something which was perfect.
despite this I would higly recommend a stay at the King George the rooms are beautiful. I just wish they would change it back to the way it was.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were at the hotel Nov 5-6 during the recent Greek protests and strikes. The hotel took excellent care of us and we are very grateful.

First of all, they emailed us on Nov 2 to let us know that the taxis would be on strike and they could arrange a private transfer. That saved us a lot of problems. We later heard from fellow cruisemates that they had terrible problems trying to get from the airport during that time.

Next, they put us in a room facing away from Syntagma Square so we didn't have to deal with the noise and teargas smells from the protest. We did try to eat in the dining room on the night of the main protest and I really couldn't stand the slight odor that seeped in through the windows on that side of the hotel. The only way we saw any evidence of the riot was on CNN!

The concierge was very helpful in calling places to find out what was open during this time.

Outside of safety concerns, our room was upgraded and very nice. Breakfast was wonderful - eggs to order and champagne and all sorts of pastries and other hot items on the buffet. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast. Staff was always accommodating and showed no signs of stress even though we heard that many other businesses were short-staffed in the area due to transport problems.

Location is ideal, we walked everywhere (we has to!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located in Syntagma Square which is on the direct line from the airport.

Check in was quick and efficient from the Head Concierge and I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a better room.

The hotel is classic in terms of decor and look. The room was nicely laid out with a desk area, bed and chair. The closet was in the hallway section of the room.

It was the bathroom which impressed me, an enormous bath on the right with lovely tile work. A separate shower with its own sitting area on the left. The amenities were good and plentiful for both shower and bath.

The rooms go through a turn down service in the evening with a different sweet treat offered each night.

The breakfast in the restaurant on the seventh floor is the real treat. There are amazing views over the Parliament square below but the view of the Acropolis is beyond amazing.

I found the hotel really convenient and within walking distance of the Acropolis, the Plaka, the national gardens and amazing restaurants and cafes nearby.

Overall a really great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We are on our way home from holiday. I just have to tell you about our Visit to the King George Hotel. From the time we walked in the front door to the time we left 6 days latter. We were treated like Royalty. The staff were great. The room was Ist class. The breakfast was 5 star. The position of this hotel was great. Even the doorman could be depended on for directions. Best hotel we stayed in out of 4 countries. Will be returning again in 12months.

Room Tip: We booked the standard room. It was large,en-suite was great. Plenty of drawers and hanging space. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King George A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George A Luxury Collection Hotel

Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens
Address: 3 Vasileos Georgiou A' St. | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — King George A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your King George A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.