We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent base for Athens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Achillion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Achillion Hotel to your Saves list
Achillion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Agiou Konstantinou Street, Athens 10437, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 326 Hotels in Athens
near Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A decent base for Athens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We took the Metro from the airport, and it was an easy walk from the Omonia stop. The area is okay during the day, but we felt not quite safe in the evening, though nothing bad happened to us. Not really any particularly nice restaurants in the area, but one street over has markets. The elevator was quite small, but it worked well. Breakfast was good, not great. Service was a bit lacking as we tried to decline having our room cleaned, but were unsuccessful. Our wakeup call came 15 minutes late. The hotel offers free wifi, but we could not get a decent signal in our sixth floor room. However, there were two computers, free to use, on the first floor. In the lobby is a cold case with reasonably priced water, sodas, and beer. The price was definitely right, and we were able to enjoy the city using this hotel as a base.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    73
    57
    13
    3
See reviews for
30
70
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked half board at this hotel, but when we arrived were informed that we hadn't paid for breakfast (which wasn't the case) and if we wanted it would have to pay another 100 euros. We had already paid more than we should have for this hotel so declined, the man on reception dealing with the issue made no attempts to sort it out for us even after being shown the printed confirmation from the holiday company, apart from him all the other staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic but fairly clean, however the beds are really uncomfortable and the bathroom was more of a cupboard, the wi-fi is intermittent as is the air condition which we got working after a few days realising the dials were too loose and the knobs fell off,the tv had 1 channel in english,CNN which is unwatchable with the terrible reception, the evening meals were home cooking, quite tasty but very samey. when we had pork stew and rice for the 3rd time in a week it got a bit ridiculous, and every desert was watermelon apart from one night out of 10 we had cake. The portion sizes are ridiculously small also, they fill you up on bread and water, we had our main meals in the amazing restaurants in the city centre ,where portion sizes and prices are not an issue. most of the staff at the hotel were friendly but we wouldnt stay there again and wouldnt recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is a real budget place, we got a good deal and the rooms were relatively clean so it suited what we paid for it I guess. Really tiny bathroom (this also seems to be a trend though in Greece), ours had a hole in the roof. Omonia is not a great area to stay in Athens, it is super dodgy, especially at night, homeless people sleeping on the sidewalks and people injecting themselves with drugs (yes actually saw this happening as we walked to metro station)
If you can afford to stay somewhere else, do. If not (and like us are on a tight budget) then this hotel is perfectly fine to spend a few nights and better than most in this area. They might not be the best few nights but it has all the basics you need. Is quite close to metro at least so 5 minute walk and you out of there. Monastiraki is only one metro stop away, which we loved, as it's a great area for dining/ shopping etc

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

As a young couple looking for a cheap place to stay for a week, this hotel was the perfect choice. After about 30 mins ride in a taxi from the airport, the staff were friendly and we were given a spacious room with a balcony on the 6th floor. Everything was spotlessly clean and in working order, including a TV and mini fridge, which was helpful for keeping drinks and snacks cool that we brought back. The air conditioning worked fine, and i had to keep turning it off as was getting a bit chilly! As a double room, we were given two beds pushed together - which meant no fighting over the covers, but I kept falling down the gap! The bathroom was quite small and poorly lit, but apart from that the room was great.
We had heard that the area around the hotel was seedy and rough, but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, and did not feel uncomfortable walking around, even in the evening. There are a few homeless people around but they will not bother you if you keep to yourself.
Location is great as a lot of the main sights and attractions are in walking distance, but if you dont feel like walking around it is only 5 mins walk to Omonia metro stop at the end of the street.
The thing we enjoyed most about the hotel was the buffet breakfast each day which was included in our price - definitely worth it! There is a variety of hot food, pastries, yoghurts, cereals and fresh fruit every day, the perfect start to the day.
This isn't a luxury hotel but if you're looking for a friendly, affordable place to stay in a great location then Achillion hotel is for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

On a six month trip around the world this was probably the best included breakfast we were offered. The hotel is also in a great location near enough to the metro to easily travel to all the main sites. The rooms are average and the air conditioning was just not quite cold enough to allow you a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I chose this hotel for cost & location, both of which were excellent and accurate. The 5 block from Omonia Metro location made for a low cost, fast ,easy 8 Euro trip airport to hotel. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful on my 3 night stay with a friend. However, the rest was a big disappointment. There was no air conditioning, which made the room very hot in the early Sept heat. If you opened the balcony sliding door ( whose lock was broken ) the busy street noise was bad. The room had terrible weak lighting. There was no in room safe. Finally the bath was tiny with a broken shower head holder & old shower curtain that was hard to keep from flooding the floor. I cant believe it had a 4 star rating on Trip Advisor, as a 2 or being generous 3 is more accurate. I travel a great deal and would not return.

Room Tip: choose a newer hotel with air conditioning in area if there from May thru Sept
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada P, Owner at Achillion Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest,

I'm really sorry for your dissapointing experience in our property.
I was extremley surprised with your review because through Septpember our A/C system worked properly, 24hours a day, and no guest complained about it.

Our reception desk operates 24h. Our staff is all very experienced and fluent English speakers. We solve many problems on the spot. We would be eager to deal with your complaints if you had expressed them while you stayed here. It's our major priority to listen to our guests and give them what they really need in order to make their stay a pleasant experience.
We have rooms, with shower or bath, with balcony or without, smoking or non smoking, doubles or twins.

Unfortunately we don't have safe boxes inside the rooms and we don't advertise so, but we offer for free a central safe box, which operates through reception desk!

Once again i'm really sorry for not finding what you asked for, but still you're very welcomed to come back and we promise to try to find a way to make your stay pleasant and memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Overall it is ok, it is about 35 minutes ride on a taxi from the airport. I was there for 5 nights with my boyfriend. When we first arrived we have given a room on the 6th floor but it was very poor with almost no lighting in the room including the bathroom. Then we have changed to another room but still the lighting was very poor especially in the bathroom. The TV didn't work. The room was quite big with a average size balcony which was a good thing. The location is very good located at 'Omonoia' and we have found a amazing restaurant call 'Balkan' just 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The food there is cheap and very nice. We had dinner there every night and it is the best restaurant we have been in Athens. Worth a try!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Achillion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achillion Hotel

Address: 32 Agiou Konstantinou Street, Athens 10437, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Achillion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Achillion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Achillion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.