We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant rate the stay highly enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zorbas Hotel

Zorbas Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zorbas Hotel to your Saves list
Zorbas Hotel
10 Gkyilfordou Street, Athens 10434, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cant rate the stay highly enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

After reading so many reviews about how 'dodge' the area was and how bad the hostel was, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was exactly what I paid for, I can't fault it at all.

Its about a 20 min walk to Monastraki, where everything that you 'need' to see in Athens is, including the Acropolis and lots and lots of bars and night life.

Its true that the area is slightly shady, I did see a lot of prostitutes, but no drug taking, and at the end of the day that is just the sort of crime that occurs continuously across European capital cities.

Maybe coming from East London meant that I found this area no more unconfortable than walking home through Bethnal Green.

Most importantly the staff are wonderful, helpful and funny, you just cant ask for more, especially at the price you pay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
3
10
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

For 5 days, we stayed at Zorbas Hotel and we loved it! It is conveniently located in Victoria Square. Easy to get to via metro, bus, and taxi. The staff is great, very helpful and friendly. We received a free map, WIFI, computer & towel service. The common area is spacious, with a big screen tv, bar, and there is a quaint outdoor terrace.

Thank you Zorbas, see you next summer!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We chose this hotel since it was very near to the train station. However, the rooms were run down, dark and the bathrooms were also very very basic. However, the staff was very helpful. They helped with directions, maps, hits and misses. The staff made up for what the rooms lacked.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

My 18 year old daughter and I stayed here for a few days. It was great for us. We felt safe and our backpacks were fine and untouched left in the room. The A/C was awesome and really neat people there. The bar/hangout downstairs was really cool and even though we don't drink, they give free ouzo for your first time there. This place is a great deal for the price. Definately suited our purpose. Thanx Zorbas
P.S. food and the metro are steps away

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

The worst place we've stayed in for two seperate trips to Europe (including sleeping in the Brussel's airport). The place REEKS of cigarette smoke. It's not soundproof, but if you are hard of hearing or don't mind being woken up at 2am by loud, drunk people talking outside your door or doing other things then for sure, stay here!
The free internet was a bonus if you could put up with the smell of the place. The staff were friendly and tried to be helpful. Ask for a map. Some good places to eat and a grocery store just down the street (the staff will tell you all this if you ask). Overall, we were happy to go and sleep on one of the Greek ferries (much quieter).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dontstaythere@gmail.com
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

This was the worst "hotel" stays I ever had. First of all its not a hotel. Its a hostel.
Second, people were smoking everywhere, the bathroom for me an my 5 friends was small an funky. Its was not clean at all! Our room was in a basement-like area with one small window that had a A/C that was dripping water all the time. The half of the staff was nice but not at all helpfull. The other half was not nice at all and couldnt care less about what we hade to say och did. The internet that was free (which was the only thing that was OK with the place) was alway occupied by THE STAFF or somebody else... All of us had been bitten by BEDBUGS AND IT WAS NASTY!!!! Dirty place but nice location! Didnt enjoy my trip at all because I was always sad to go "home" after a day in the beach... Not safe to leave anything there!!!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

I was disappointed to find that the 'hotel' was in fact a hostel. Run down building just off Viktoria Square. Pleasant enough staff but not that interested in helping people. Our room was private with an ensuite but close enough to the dorms that we heard all the screaming and rampaging of the hordes of American backpackers. If you want cheap as chips accomodation and don't mind the noise then stay here. Security can't be too great there. Nothing stolen or missing while we stayed but all the doors of the rooms seem to have been busted at the handle and shodily repaired. We padlocked our suitcases to the radiator just in case. The only much appreciated thing in the room was the well working air conditioner. Stay if you don't mind roughing or pay a bit extra and try to get a real hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zorbas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas Hotel

Address: 10 Gkyilfordou Street, Athens 10434, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Zorbas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zorbas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.