We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, not great, maybe skip Athens all together” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Student & Travellers Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Student & Travellers Inn to your Saves list
The Student & Travellers Inn
16 Krdathineon Street, Plaka, Athens 10558, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Athens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ok, not great, maybe skip Athens all together”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

This place is clean and nice, but a little on the pricey side for what you get. Breakfast isn't free, wi- fi is spotty, staff could be nicer and my shared room was uncomfortably small. That beind said, the area is really central, convinient and safe which is a big deal since I'm constantly hearing from both locals and travellers that Athens isn't very safe. I've met 3 people who've been pick- pocketed in 2 days here, which I guess limits us tourists to average but pricey places like this one.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    68
    27
    16
    20
See reviews for
12
39
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Located between the Syntagma Square and Acropolis area, this accommodation is nicely situated. Staff are helpful and friendly. Rooms and facilities are basic and clean. Breakfast is available downstairs; also a small library is adjacent to the restaurant area. They provide a nice introductory walking tour of the area.

Although I consider it a bit pricey for a hostel-type stay, it is competitive with the rest of accommodations in the area.

There is travel agency in house, from which I had assistance.

This accommodation is recommended.

P.S. Be very careful on the Metro subway. I was rolled upon boarding the train by a gang on an early morning departure from Monistiraki subway station. I called out and struggled with the assailant who lifted my wallet, and fortunately, got the wallet back. I understand this is a common occurence. Try to keep your valuables in a money belt inside your pants. If you have a pack, you are top-heavy and vulnerable to being pushed off balance, which facilitates the key pick-pocketer. That's what happened to me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a private room with a bathroom for two nights. it was impeccably clean and colorful. It is close to the Acropolis. Free breakfast, Internet and wifi are available here. It is a large hostel. The staff are friendly and compliant. I would stay here again and recommend it to other travelers. I had to take at cab from the port because I arrived late at night. There is an airport bus within easy walking distance from the hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Greece being my first port of call for my Euro trip, I stayed 3 nights at Travelers Inn and found the location to be perfect (pre-booked 2 nights and added another night because of the location) and the service to be very good, but besides that the hostel is nothing special at all.

The location is fantastic! Merely a 5-10 minute walk to virtually all the tourist sights including the Acropolis and museum, Temple of Zeus, Parliament House, Ancient Agora, Flea market, etc. and it surrounded by heaps of cafes, restaurants and souvenir shops.

Reagrding the room: I paid 11 Euros per night for a 8-bed mixed dorm with shared bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and clean but there were no bed-side lights or shelves not a single electrical plug in the room, there are no lockers and the wifi connection was terrible and didn't reach the room.

The bathroom was shared between 4 rooms on the 1st floor (not entirely sure how many people), they were always very clean and the showers worked great. The only problem was that it's a really strange design in that the sink, toilet and 2 showers are in the same room so it only allowed one person to use the bathroom at a time as most people lock the door when using the toilet (meaning both showers cannot be used) as well as when in the shower (meaning the toilet, sink and other shower are unavailable).

As for the service, everyone who works at the hostel was extremely friendly and helpful in every way possible. They were more than happy to hold my lap top everyday behind the counter when I went out as well as answer every one of my million questions. The Travel Information guy was especially helpful in providing me with travel advice around Greece and booking me a ferry ticket to Santorini (39 Euro).

The hostel does provide breakfast for 3 Euro+, there is a garden with TV screen, a microwave (that I only found on the last day) and three computers with decent internet, however these aspects don't tip the scale for me. Overall I did enjoy my stay at Travelers Inn and it was perfect for my first time visiting Athens but you really are only paying for the location. If you have seen the main sights that Athens has to offer and don't need to be within 5 minutes walking distance, I think there are better places around for a similar price. Hope this helps and good luck!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My 14 year old son and I stayed here for 3 nights. The staff was super friendly, rooms clean and the location could not be better! Only probably was wifi did not work.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed there for two nights and we left with the best imressions!The stuff (reception,travel office,bar) are extremelly helpfull and kind. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the garden bar is a great place to meet other travellers. Breakfast is great too. It's best asset though is the location.It's walking distance from all the sites and right in the middle of the plaka area where it's all happening.STAY THERE!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The Student and Travellers Inn was a perfectly decent hostel. The rooms were fine, but the bathrooms could've been cleaner. All of the staff we encountered were all very helpful and friendly. Don't waste your time with the breakfast because it was rubbish. Instead, go to one of the many cafes close by where you can get a great savory pie or sandwich for cheap. The hostel is exquisitely located 5 minutes walking from the Acropolis. Not bad, all in all.

Room Tip: A room with your own bathroom would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Student & Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Student & Travellers Inn

Address: 16 Krdathineon Street, Plaka, Athens 10558, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Student & Travellers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Student & Travellers Hotel Athens
The Student And Travellers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Student & Travellers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.