We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and amazing views from the roof-top patio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adrian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Adrian Hotel to your Saves list
Adrian Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Adrianou Street, Athens 10556, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and amazing views from the roof-top patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Close to the Plaka and Acropolis on a street a little off all the souvenir shops. The hotel was clean, the people were friendly and the roof top patio with view of the Acropolis was unbeatable. The room was small but didn't stay there long!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    93
    38
    10
    12
See reviews for
38
76
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

All right, I admit, the room was small, the bathroom tiny, the decor dated. BUT it is in the most wonderful location, right on the Agora square with all its restaurants in the heart of the Plaka. The view of the Acropolis from the rooftop breakfast bar is breathtaking, and the breakfast was excellent too. Lovely freshly squeezed orange juice. The check-in was smooth, the staff helpful. Despite its size, the bathroom was clean and usable. Cleanliness levels high.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great location in Plaka, handy for Acropolis. The rooms really need updated, dirty carpets and old fashioned bedding, triple room booked, however 3 rd bed was a fold away camp bed.For price paid I expected more. breakfast on the rooftop terrace was lovely and service at reception good.
The price paid was way too high with the rooms offered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Adrian Hotel is located in the centre of plaka, very close to the acropolis and has a great view to it from the roof where we had breakfast. This is a great location in the heart of the Plaka, surrounded by small shops and restaurants, easy access to metro trains, hop on hop off bus routes. Great view of the acropolis and Parthenon from the rooftop terrace. Excellent breakfast.
The only inconvenient thing was the internet connection which used to cut from time to another.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We looked for a triple room in the center of Athens, not far from the Acropolis. Adrian Hotel had good reviews and the prices seemed corrects. We were tempted by a non refundable and cheaper reservation.

Once at the hotel we were given a double room with a supplementary children bed. We tried to argue that we needed a triple room as the three of us we are big enough but they insisted that this is a triple room in spite of the notice on the door that clearly identifies it as a double. We have complained to the reservation site, booking.com, but they sent us a mail telling us that they have spoken... to the receptionist of the hotel and she said that we have a triple room. Thank you booking.com !

On the other hand there is nothing special about Adrian Hotel except its location. Breakfast is really poor. You'll take it on a terrace with a view on Acropolis but there are plenty of hotels, restaurants and cafes that have excellent views. The bathroom is in bad shape and need a proper cleaning and new equipment. Stains on the carpet. No refrigerator. Weak Wi-Fi and laborious connexion. No comment on the reception staff, as they at first tried to convince everybody that a double is a triple and then they carefully avoided me... Globally a deceiving experience in this hotel in Athens, and finally a less enjoyable stay in Greece.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a great location in the heart of the Plaka, surrounded by small shops and restaurants. The best feature has to be the rooftop breakfast with the view of the Acropolis. Breakfast buffet was sufficient - fresh squeezed orange juice brought by server. Don't forget to try the Greek yogurt and honey.
The room was very basic but had been updated with a nice built-in closet for luggage and room-safe. Our room was clean, although the bathroom was old, everything worked well. The old marble floor suggested a grander day for the hotel. We had twin beds because I never know when you ask for a double bed if it will be a full size or hopefully, a queen. The beds were not very comfortable - harder than I like. The balcony had a small table and chairs. The fresh air was welcome, but we did acquire a mosquito at bedtime. There are rooms with an Acropolis view for an extra fee.
We were given an Internet code on arrival which worked well in our room and the computer in the office was available for flight check-in and printing boarding passes, etc. Ice was available on request from the front desk. Small fridge with overpriced bottled water etc. in the room. Grocery store two blocks away to bring in your own stuff. TV worked well with many channels - a few in English.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for an affordable hotel in the Plaka district, and this fit the bill. Definitely a no-frills kind of place, but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. Shower was admittedly a bit cramped, especially for my 6' 5'' husband, but we managed.

Breakfast on the rooftop terrace overlooking the Acropolis was a definite plus, though. Food was basic but tasty (and included in room price), and we were always able to find a good seat with lovely views. Very close to metro stops, shops, and obviously, the Acropolis.

We also had free wifi--other reviews say there was no wifi, but we were given the password promptly at check-in and it worked well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adrian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrian Hotel

Address: 74 Adrianou Street, Athens 10556, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adrian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adrian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrian Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adrian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.