We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renewed hotel with the Best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Mitropoleos | Sytagma, Athens 10557 , Greece (Plaka)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Oporto
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Renewed hotel with the Best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights before getting to mykonos. Hotel is within very short walking distance to sintagma, plaka monastiraki ,accropolis and is in the middle of shopping district. Reception people very Nice and helpfull.
Resonable good breakfast.
Only complain - no the departure because it. was só early asked for a lunchbox- and was real real poor. In Athens world come Back to This hotel. Matress a lit. to soft.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    236
    125
    19
    7
See reviews for
69
242
63
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pune
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Right in the heart of all that u want to see ! The hotel was just perfect for 4 us four couples !
We arrived much before check in time but the hotel staff ensured we had one room quickly so we could keep our luggage freshen up and step out after breakfast to enjoy ! By the time we came back in two hours our rooms were handed over to us !
No doubt tea coffee arrangements were not available in our rooms but on request the staff ensured we got our tea and coffee trays whenever we wanted.

Everything from the Plaka and other tourist attractions were at a walking distance

The hop on and hop off tour followed by the train gave us our bearings and the three days spent here were really wonderful.
Will recommend this hotel to all who wish to spend time outdoors!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The location of the hotel was good. It's a couple minute walk to Syntagma Square, and about a 20 minute walk to the base of the Acropolis. There's also a lot of shops nearby - both in the square and on the way to the Acropolis from the hotel. The hotel itself was very clean, and the tv had some channels in English which was nice. One really nice thing the hotel did was pack us some food for breakfast since we were leaving so early the last day. The hotel is happy to set up a taxi transfer for you (in our case to the port) but be aware it will come at a higher fare; you're better off walking to Syntagma square and picking one up. Lastly, the metro has a stop in Syntagma Square so if you'll be using that to go other places it'll be convenient. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Room was nice, but the breakfast was excellent--large buffet style breakfast. the amazon is close to Syntagma Square. Take the metro from the airport and it is a couple blocks from the square. There are many places to eat in the vicinity--so go exploring. You can easily walk to the acropolis and the other sites from here--maybe 2-3 km.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

+
Great location
Fast service
Acropolis view... that is a small glimpse
-
Rooms are not very nice, too simple and old
Too expensive for what you get
Breakfast not very inspirational

Would stay there again only if nothing better or cheaper is available. Not a good deal


Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Amazon Hotel is in a great location in Athens, within walking distance of many of the attractions, markets and great restaurants. The breakfast is really good and the staff friendly and helpful. Only a small thing but there is limited natural light in the bedroom we had. Would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notodden, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed for a week at this hotel and would like to recommend it to anyone who wants walking distance to main attractions, historical sites and Plaka area in Athen. We had a renovated room for three persons, the air condition a little bit noisy but working perfectly. Super breakfast and room cleaning. Make sure to ask for water boiler/coffee making facilities in advance, when booking, if you need it. You might get conflicting answers from receptionists about their availability. If you need laundry service, ask the female receptionists. We did not use the TV, too few English channels for us. 24 hours reception, help with pre-booking taxi and breakfast bag if you are leaving for Pireus very early worked well for us.

Room Tip: Triple rooms have three separate beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel

Address: 19 Mitropoleos | Sytagma, Athens 10557 , Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.