We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but without breakfast as it says on the website” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Mitropoleos | Sytagma, Athens 10557 , Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 326 Hotels in Athens
NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Good location but without breakfast as it says on the website”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked this hotel through expedia with a very reasonable price. But the hotel didn't give the complimentary breakfast mentioned in the website which was the main reason for the average score we gave it.(Even though we kind of want to give it a 4 but without breakfast it was a 3) Other than that, the room the gave us was spacious and clean with a fridge and updated amenities. Location is very convenient, you can walk to many attractions such as Acropolis, Roma and Ancient Agora and Temple of Olympian Zeus...etc. Bus from and to the airport is only couple blocks away right next to a Citibank that we used our ATM to get local money easily. Only two very small elevators which at most fit 3-4 people only in the hotel. Internet was free and speed was very good.

Room Tip: Make sure if the breakfast was included and bring the document with you, they didn't give it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    205
    119
    19
    6
See reviews for
54
219
59
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over NewYear for 5 nights. We had the suite, which has wonderful views of the Parthenon and a fantastic roof terrace which would have been terrific had it not rained every day of our stay.
Location couldn't have been better and the guys on the front desk were marvellous. Nothing too much trouble for them and always friendly.
Would return here without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

So close to Plaka and Monastiraki and the Acropolis! Amazing breakfast buffet and lots of restaurants and bake shops near by!!!! Syntagma metro is like a 2 minute walk? And the City Sightseeing bus is 1 minute away!!!! Would stay here again :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is an average hotel, rooms a very small but you can manage, bathrooms are extremely small even for Europe standards. The beds are pretty good and comfortable which is appreciated after a busy day out and about in Athens. The locations is great for this hotel, is right in the center of Athens, a couple of blocks from the parliament and where the hop on hop off tours stops if you like doing that type of tours which I totally recommend. In general is a good hotel to keep a good budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed for 4 days at this hotel with my hausbant .Its so close to Syntagma square.
Our room was on the 6th floor ,small but very clean ,with modern decoration.the breakfast
was good and the girls at the restaurant very genteel ,also the staff at the reception .
the only problem we had was the hair dryer ,it was really hard to dry my hair !!!!
I recoment this hotel for your stay in Athens.

Room Tip: Get room at the 6th floor,best view,less noise!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night stay here and i have rated this hotel as Excellent. Yes, as previous posters have mentioned, one of the staff on reception wasn't overly friendly (they werent unfriendly at all just barely said hello etc) but i didnt come here for the receptionists.

Location of the hotel is perfect, easy walking distance to all the ancient sites, Syntagma square (1 min away) for access to buses and metro for access to/from the Airport and bus to Cape Sounion (I can really recommend this, no need to book with a tour company at all), restaurants and cafes and shopping.

The room was pretty much spotless, the only gripe i had was the size of the bathroom (not sure if this was unique to my twin room?). If you were a large person, I am seriously not sure you would actually fit in the shower, or be able to use the toilet. This was only a minor inconvenience for me though.

In summary, the key things from a hotel for me are location, cleanliness and price. This hotel delivers on all of these. Definitely recommended by me (particularly if you can also get a rate of €37 a night incl all taxes and breakfast which i thought was an absolute bargain)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is perfectly situated in Plaka close to restaurants, bars, minimarkets, sights, transportation. It was clean and quiet. Breakfast was rather average, no fresh fruits, no variety but nice wholemeal bread.
Very disappointing was however the check-in and check-out with the woman on duty. She didn't greet us, there was no eye contact, no smile, nothing. Her very cold behavior shocked us. Other staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel

Address: 19 Mitropoleos | Sytagma, Athens 10557 , Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.