We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff. Great hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amazon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amazon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amazon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Mitropoleos | Sytagma, Athens 10557 , Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 323 hotels in Athens
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great staff. Great hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over NewYear for 5 nights. We had the suite, which has wonderful views of the Parthenon and a fantastic roof terrace which would have been terrific had it not rained every day of our stay.
Location couldn't have been better and the guys on the front desk were marvellous. Nothing too much trouble for them and always friendly.
Would return here without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    194
    103
    18
    6
See reviews for
48
184
52
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

So close to Plaka and Monastiraki and the Acropolis! Amazing breakfast buffet and lots of restaurants and bake shops near by!!!! Syntagma metro is like a 2 minute walk? And the City Sightseeing bus is 1 minute away!!!! Would stay here again :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is an average hotel, rooms a very small but you can manage, bathrooms are extremely small even for Europe standards. The beds are pretty good and comfortable which is appreciated after a busy day out and about in Athens. The locations is great for this hotel, is right in the center of Athens, a couple of blocks from the parliament and where the hop on hop off tours stops if you like doing that type of tours which I totally recommend. In general is a good hotel to keep a good budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed for 4 days at this hotel with my hausbant .Its so close to Syntagma square.
Our room was on the 6th floor ,small but very clean ,with modern decoration.the breakfast
was good and the girls at the restaurant very genteel ,also the staff at the reception .
the only problem we had was the hair dryer ,it was really hard to dry my hair !!!!
I recoment this hotel for your stay in Athens.

Room Tip: Get room at the 6th floor,best view,less noise!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night stay here and i have rated this hotel as Excellent. Yes, as previous posters have mentioned, one of the staff on reception wasn't overly friendly (they werent unfriendly at all just barely said hello etc) but i didnt come here for the receptionists.

Location of the hotel is perfect, easy walking distance to all the ancient sites, Syntagma square (1 min away) for access to buses and metro for access to/from the Airport and bus to Cape Sounion (I can really recommend this, no need to book with a tour company at all), restaurants and cafes and shopping.

The room was pretty much spotless, the only gripe i had was the size of the bathroom (not sure if this was unique to my twin room?). If you were a large person, I am seriously not sure you would actually fit in the shower, or be able to use the toilet. This was only a minor inconvenience for me though.

In summary, the key things from a hotel for me are location, cleanliness and price. This hotel delivers on all of these. Definitely recommended by me (particularly if you can also get a rate of €37 a night incl all taxes and breakfast which i thought was an absolute bargain)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is perfectly situated in Plaka close to restaurants, bars, minimarkets, sights, transportation. It was clean and quiet. Breakfast was rather average, no fresh fruits, no variety but nice wholemeal bread.
Very disappointing was however the check-in and check-out with the woman on duty. She didn't greet us, there was no eye contact, no smile, nothing. Her very cold behavior shocked us. Other staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is excellent value, very clean and just a short level walk to Syntagma Square the transport hub and close to the tourist sites. The rooms are not huge but are comfortable with good air conditioning and functional bathroom. Breakfast is fine and the staff are friendly. Don't let the outside look of the hotel put you off.

Room Tip: Walk around the corner to the back of the hotel and find the small one man restaurant called Marco A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amazon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Hotel

Address: 19 Mitropoleos | Sytagma, Athens 10557 , Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 323 hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amazon Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Amazon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.