We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hermes Hotel to your Saves list
Hermes Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19, Apollonos Street | Syntagma/Plaka, Athens 10557, Greece (Plaka)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST & WI-FI
Ranked #12 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I found this hotel to be a great place to stay while in Athens. It was neat, tidy, friendly, close to the metro and the plaka and close to most of the main attractions.
The public relations officer, Eva, could not do enough to help or advise us. Her directions were clear, concise, simple and accurate.
I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on future visits to Athens.

Best regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    384
    57
    26
    4
See reviews for
211
370
66
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We spent 2 nights after a cruise at the Hermes Hotel. It is very clean, comfortable, convenient property. The hotel is located in the Plaka area of Athens within easy walking distance of all the sights on and around the Acropolis. You do not need taxis, cars or other transportation to see the sights. Each morning a hotel staff person is dedicated to talking with visitors about their plans and offers great advice to help make your visit to the sights most efficient and effective - this is a great service! The rooms are clean with marble bathrooms and are sufficiently sized for two adults. The breakfast is well prepared and offers a good variety of choices - hot eggs , cold cuts, cheeses, pastries, breads, selection of Greek specialties.

Room Tip: Go to the roof for a view of the Acroplis
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to know you have been satisfied with our service,, as well as with quality and quantity of our buffet breakfast.

Thank you for your nice review and hope to see you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed a couple nights in Hermes hotel and I have no qualms about it. The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfy. The breakfast was good but the Internet wasn't free. I believe it was 8 euros for 24 hours of Internet wifi access. I loved the location of the hotel. One street up you reach the street of Mitropoleos. Take a right and you'll bump into shops and restaurants. Continue and you eventually reach Syntagma Square. From there sightseeing is easy. The acropolis and the museum are walking distance. So is the temple of Zeus and the Olympic stadium. It's hard to get lost in this area. For the shoppers Ermou street is two streets north of Appolonus where the hotel is located. You can't go wrong with this choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Your kind review with plenty of details will be helpfull to other readers.
I thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This hotel is in a great location and that is the reason why they charge high rates. However you can find better hotels, nearby, which are cheaper. The rooms are tiny, with spacious bathrooms. The sofas in the lobby are dirty, however rooms are clean.

Has a very good breakfast buffet and has a wonderful service. While at breakfast someone from the hotel will be willing to guide you through Athens and take care of any problem you may have had with your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review and your comments which will help us improve.
We are pleased you enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms, the new marble bethrooms,our rich breakfast and of course the location of the hotel.
Concerning our rates, we do check regularly other hotels in the same location and of similar services in order to be competitive.
Hope to choose us again on a future trip.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The staff at Hermes Hotel was fabulous....always very helpful and pleasant. The location was great, walking distance to the Acropolis and Parliment. The rooms were small but adequate and reasonably priced. The view of the Acropolis from the rooftop was awesome. I would stay there again and do recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that you your stay with us was a positive experience.
Thank you for your review mentioning the friendly staff and the roof top, as this will help future clients.

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. I had been last year in another hotel nearby, but this one has an excellent staff, very helpful. Very good breakfast and I really recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read that we matched your expectations during your short stay in Athens.
We hope to see you again on a future trip.
Thank you for your score.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights Sept.19-21, 2011. As stated by others, rooms are fairly small and sparsely furnished (only 1 folding wood chair to sit on) but clean with wood floors and nice bathroom. Eva, from Guest Relations, was extremely helpful and personable. She made the rounds of every table in the breakfast room to check on guests and answered questions and made suggestions for touring Athens. We told her we had to leave at 4 AM the next day to get to the airport and she said to check with the front desk and request an early light breakfast that would be ready for us by 3:30 AM. We had also asked if there were any bananas to grab for breakfast (we hadn't seen any) and she made it a point to bring bananas and apples to our room that evening. You also get 25 minuntes of free internet before they charge you. Hotel was close to many attractions and we also appreciated the staff at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on our property.
As our main goal is to offer to our guests high quality facilities and services, it is great to read that you were satisfied with all little details we trying for a memorable stay..
Hope to see you again in the future.
.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: 19, Apollonos Street | Syntagma/Plaka, Athens 10557, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.