We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exarchion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Exarchion Hotel to your Saves list
Exarchion Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Themistokleous 55, Athens 10683, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 326 Hotels in Athens
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

This is a pretty nice hotel- completely serviceable and in a hip part of town. Its not luxury but I didn't really want to spend a whole lot of time there anyway. I would not call it quiet, but again I was out late. Good value for the money, I would stay here again.

I am told this neighborhood used to be really bad, but now it looked fine to me.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    33
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
13
27
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

The hotel was a good value but was more shabby than I expected. I valued the location as poor, though it was fairly centrally located. The area around the hotel is fairly gritty, especially for a family with younger children, while the street noise was also bothersome.

The staff were very helpful, with the clerk moving his motorcycle to help save a parking space for us to load up our car when leaving. We appreciated their helpful attitude.

The hotel could use a modest update of paint, and some attention, particularly in the bathroom. It was not a horrible experience, but we were very ready to leave after our two nights!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is basic but it is clean and comfortable. It is in the heart of the Exarchion area which is a lively area with lots of cafes, restaurants, and bars, due to the large student population. It is about a 10-15 min walk from Omonia Square (metro). The continental breakfast was fine and the rooms have Wifi access. Overall it’s quite good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

One of the friendliest, cleanest hotels, with the most helpful staff, that you could ever hope to find! Inexpensive, yet has those small (and up-to-date) extras which make your stay easier. Roomy and with excellent view, nothing was too much trouble for the knowledgeable and very helpful staff and they can also help you organise sightseeing trips.

They gave useful advice on local transportation and where best to eat - even though the "Orange Submarine" sandwich/pizza bar affiliated to the hotel has some of the best pizzas and sandwiches ever eaten.

This recently refurbished hotel is situated in one of the liveliest and most colourful areas of the city, one with a "buzz". Metro station not far away and taxi's easily available. A pleasure to have stayed there and definitely plan to return - and soon.

Would recommend very very highly indeed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

The location is ok (far away enough from Omonia) but it lies just next to several pubs and right in front of an occupied house (theater classes, trumpet, drum and bass practice and who knows what else). So it can get really noisy. The "renovation" of the hotel consisted on new paint. Doors, walls, pipes, elevator... same old stuff. Our window did not even close, and provided very bad noise isolation. Very small bathroom, shower curtain clinging to our skins. We had a much better breakfast at another cheaper pension nearer to Omonia. This is a 7 floor bulding that has a 10-table breakfast room. Instant coffee, watered down orange (?) juice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The location was perfect. We could walk to most of the tourist attractions. And travelling as a group of two females and a male, we never felt unsafe around Exarchia. Even late at night. Actually, we liked the neighbourhood! The view from the roof terrace at night is really nice.
Free Internet access is one of its pros. Most importantly: The staff was very very friendly!

You might hear some noise from the cafes in the square below. As long as you close the window and open the A/C, this shouldn't be a big problem. You cannot expect to be in such a central location but not to have any noise. At least not in Greece!

If we go back to Athens, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exarchion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exarchion Hotel

Address: Themistokleous 55, Athens 10683, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Exarchion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Exarchion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exarchion Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exarchion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.