We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't get back even for a night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carolina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Carolina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carolina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Kolokotroni Str., Athens 10560 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 324 hotels in Athens
Moscow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Won't get back even for a night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I chose this hotel because I needed something not far from Syntagma just for one night. The description and the pictures looked nice, and they promised tea&coffee maker in each room - as I like to have my chamomile in the evening, it was decided.
On arrival I haven't found any kettle or anything for making tea in the room - and the reception girl told me they don't have it anymore! She even didn't excused. The room also doesn't look as nice as on the hotel photos. It's clean but very small and quite shabby. In some lusters there are no lamps, the safe-deposit box and fridge do not work, the balcony is dirty, there are even butts from previous clients... The view is awful.
The window goes on Kolokotroni street which is dubious and dirty. Be aware - it looks quite but there's a bar next door to the hotel - so you won't sleep till late at night. The room door also isn't sound-proofing at all.
The breakfast is very-very poor, nothing hot, even the eggs are cold.
There is a wi-fi in the hotel, sometimes it works, sometimes not.
So next time I'd better pay ten euro more but live is more pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    56
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
17
51
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We book this hotel the morning for the same day evening by phone, it was a lucky choice. The people on the phone and when we arrive can speak good English, which is already a good point.
The rooms provide enough place for 2. Bathroom is ok, the shower is not top class, but it works with good flow of water. A little smell of humidity in the room, maybe it is common in Athens, I don't know.
Rooms are quiet because the street below is small and with low traffic, you hear much the inside of the building : neighbor rooms and people talking in the corridor. Still it was quiet enough for us to have a nice night.
The breakfast does worth it. ok it is basic, but you have bread, ham, boiled egg, butter, jam, chocolate paste, cereals, 1 sort of fresh fruit, coffee, tea. the juice are not good. For the value I don't think you can find better.

The hotel is close to the station of metro with 2 important lines : which arrives fromPireaus (line1) and line 3 which goes directly to the airport, so for us it was really good.
Also it is really close to walk around Acropole from the hotel.
Not the most romantic hotel in the world, but right value for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Ugggggh!!!! Ugly hotel in an ugly part of Athens with an unpleasant lobby, stark- barely lit hallways, and unlovely (but clean rooms). The staff was friendly and nice and the breakfast sufficient, but the shower was so small and uncomfortable that I had to change hotels. I'm not a princess, but despite the low price, this is not the place to stay on vacation. It is depressing, and not the type of place you want to come home to after a long day of siteseeing. There are many other budget hotels in less seedy neighborhoods of comparable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great value for this hotel. We were in Athens for one night, and had to catch an early ferry the next morning, so our main concerns were convenience and a good rest.

1) Convenience. Perfect location. I'm really surprised to hear descriptions of the neighborhood as "seedy" - it's a really nice street, close to Acropolis, on the edge of Plaka, easy walk to the metro station from the airport, easy walk to the metro station to the ferry...
During our afternoon, we walked to the Acropolis, had dinner in Kolonaki, walked through Plaka in the late evening (the one thing we were surprised about, stores close very early in Athens). It was great to be able to walk everywhere. We felt perfectly safe the entire time.

2) Good rest. We only paid around 65 USD for the room, so we weren't expecting tempurpedic bed and a fancy bathtub. The room was very big, the bed reasonably comfortable, and most importantly - it was so quiet (our room view was of the staircase - which is fine, I didn't come to Athens to enjoy the hotel room view).

Summary: I think this is a great value hotel. We left before breakfast started, but it's great that its included. Really nice hotel.

Tip: For the ladies: Korres cosmetics are a good buy in Athens. Cheaper than in the US and bigger selection!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I simply wanted a place to sleep in Athens - we weren't looking for frills, just a home base that was close to the sights. This hotel met those expectations. The hotel itself felt safe, however I don't think I would venture out in the neighborhood by myself at night - it felt a little shady.

Pros: centrally located, decent breakfast, safe in rooms, free wifi, very friendly staff, clean rooms
Cons: neighborhood felt a little sketchy. Towels were dingy and scratchy. The shower was terrible - water leaked everywhere and the shower head sprayed water in a strange way (perhaps due to the duct tape holding the head together).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Although it's kind of conveniently located, the street is not nice. It is just ouside the pedestrian Plaka. Sometimes there is heavy traffic around. Walking from Monastiraki you pass by some seedy spots and see homeless or drunk people yelling and fighting. The corner on the hotel's street was dark and filthy, with some big trash containers and lots of graffiti.

We got a very bad and uncomfortable room, totally dark all day long, with only a narrow window facing a tall tube with some bathroom windows. It was a triple room, with just one stool to put a piece of luggage and no surface to place the other two pieces (carry-ons), besides the middle of the floor or a bed. We could not walk around any of the two beds. The closet was tiny, too narrow for the three of us to hung our few clothes, and the lower part was full of thick blankets (in June!) and pillows.

The bathroom was small but nice, in very good condition.

One great thing about Greek hotels at this price level is that they are family businesses, you get to talk to the owner or someone from the family, who gives you very good, personalized attention. It was not the case in hotel Carolina (we stayed at the beginning of our trip at the Art Gallery hotel, where the staff was way nicer). The guy at the front desk when we arrived was extremely quiet and laconic (playing an ancient Greek role, maybe?). The girl in the morning shift talked more, but it still was very impersonal attention. Just before leaving we overheard another guest mentioning a nice view of the Parthenon on the roof top, which the hotel staff didn't let us know before. That view must be nice during the night, when you don't see between the Parthenon and your eyes the aluminium frame of a canopy belongin to a neighboring building.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Carolina, Manager at Hotel Carolina, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear traveller thank you for your review.

Bear in mind, that Athens is a quite big urban style city and many of the streets in the city center are covered with graffities and there are some homeless people as well. You know, all these are common in big cities, such as Paris, Berlin, Athens etc. Don't think that USA is the only place of this world. Our location is one of the best in Athens and very safe as well so do not misinform the people and make them feel insecure because most american visitors are like that everywhere.

Regarding you room, you reserved a budget double room which includes a double bed and an extra bed and is clearly advertised as double room with extra bed and not as a triple room, therefore you cannot expect a triple room size. Furthermore, the reason of the wall view is because you havent been generous enough to book a standard room with balcony or an acropolis view room. The budget rooms are clearly advertised on the internet as "blind rooms with no view". If you wanted to upgrade your room you could have asked us at reception, we are not obliged to let you know about this since all of our room types are clearly stated on hotel's official website and you should have known them since you planned to stay with us.

To sum up, yes rooms in europe and specially in the 2 star category are a little bit small because buildings in europe are old with different standards , but as i stated before USA is not the only place in this world. USA is a new country with new infrstructure and bigger houses and room sizes. When you travel, specially if you are a 2-star traveller, you travel more for the experience and not for the luxury.

Here in Hotel Carolina, we do not play any ancient greek roles and we have a very certain philosophy which is called, FRIENDLY NOT FAMILIAR. Hotel Carolina is not a family hotel. Hotel Carolina is a 34 room city hotel, not a beach resort hotel or little family studios be the seaside to get such close attention. There are many people who come here for business or personal issues and are not in mood for a lot of socializing. We are more than happy to help you with any questions you have and give you pleasant hospitality, but you have to bear in mind that we work behind reception with a lot of administrative job as well, so we are not entertainers or story listeners. Our job is to help you with all questions you have regarding your visit and i am sure that if you did so, everyone behind the desk has answered to you without having been laconic.

To summarize, Athens rooftops have a lot of aluminium frames and canopys, this is not our fault.. This is Athens... And finally the hotel stuff is not obliged to tell you about the rooftop and the view. We mention clearly those rooms on our website, you could have booked them from there or you could have asked at reception if we have Acropolis View rooms. I really do not get this statement from you, why do you expect even the slightest detail from our side? We are humans, not robots.. You can also ask us yourself for any doubts you have and we will be more than happy to answer !

Kind Regards
Tsiaktanis Marios
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Pleasant affordable hotel located a goal kick distance from Monastiraki Flea Market Station. This makes it walking distance to all major sites in central Athens: Akropolis. Ancient and Roman Agoras, Theatre of Olympian Zeus, & Panathenaic Olympic Stadium etc.Location also gives u access to restaurants in Plaka and Monastiraki area. U don't even need to use public transport. Simple continental breakfast is included and free wifi is available. Rooms are sparkling clean though quite basic. But if u don't need a 4 star hotel, but just a clean centrally located one, this is a perfect choice.
Hotel staff is helpful to offer directions to attractions. There are also tours that can be booked thru the hotel which you may want to query about
To get to the hotel, take the Metro from the airport and get off at Monastiraki (no connections needed)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Though there is not much to see from that location, it is still nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carolina

Address: 55 Kolokotroni Str., Athens 10560 , Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 324 hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carolina 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HostelBookers, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carolina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.