We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel centrally located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carolina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carolina to your Saves list
Hotel Carolina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Kolokotroni Str., Athens 10560 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good hotel centrally located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Spent three nights at the Carolina, very clean, free WiFi and good continental breakfast. Noisy as many clients arrive and depart at all hours and the hotel is an old building, clean and well maintained. If you want to be in central Athens, close to Metro stations, one in Monastiraki at 5 minutes walk, second in Syntagma square 10 minutes, then it will be a good choice. Having meetings in the area was right for me and the price affordable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    53
    31
    15
    14
See reviews for
19
60
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

On the basis of description and pictures on the website we thought we had booked a quiet room on the top floor, with two big glass doors and a spacious terrace with chairs and a table overlooking the Acropolis. But no ...... this is what we got ..... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xlokswc4Nw0

Room Tip: Location is ok, so just bring your ear plugs and go for the cheapest room. And if you want to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Lahore, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Spent one night in athens at this lovely hotel.
the location is amazing if you want to stay in the centre close to or within the hustle and bustle of athens. its two minutes walking from the monastiraki metro station from where the metro takes you straight to the airport. it is also where the flea market is and a five minute walk is the plaka area which is a charming bazaar of handicrafts jewelry and other touristy goods amongst many cute little eateries and restaurants.
the staff are friendly and cheerful. the breakfast was pretty good: the basic fare plus eggs.
prices in this part of athens are generally high but i found this hotel to be a very good deal. definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This Hotel was perfectly located and close to all the main attractions in Athens. We reached it easily from the closest subway stations (Monistiraki) and walked to all the venues we visited during our stay. The room was more spacious than we thought, clean and recently updated, but the bed cover looked like it had been used for century!! Our room was on the 4th floor and had a balcony with a view on the Acropolis and were not bothered by any traffic noise at all. The breakfast was also excellent as was the wireless internet connection which is not common in Europe (well, at least not in Greece). We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My wife & I picked this hotel because of its ratings on Trip Advisor & hotels.com (85% positive) and its rates and I wasn't disappointed. I got a very good rate because it was one of the smaller rooms & without a view (disclosed in the offering). In retrospect, I was just as glad, because I suspect the street side rooms might have had some street noise and the view wasn't really anything but a narrow one-way street with rooftops and storefronts. I found the location exceptional, one block from the edge of the tourist oriented Plaka, in the sector where the shopping for actual residents of Athens begins, around the corner from the 1 Euro store (like a Dollar Store). It did mean that all of the stores closed early on the hotel's street, so that it seemed a bit lonely till we rounded the corner a dozen meters from the entrance, were there was one of the many sidewalk tavernas and a half block more to the eternally lively Plaka.
This was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever been in. The paint was fresh, and even the grout in the very small bathroom was meticulously clean, not a grey spot anywhere, and the baseboards were likewise spotless, as was the ceiling trim. I'm not usually too finicky with such things as I look for bargains in large cities where most accommodations are unaffordable and easily accept some compromises. I'm usually happy with faded elegance. However, the only compromise was the size of the room, which for a large city wasn't really that bad either - I've certainly had smaller in big European cities.
The breakfast was very good - more than adequate and more than I expected. Some more fruit selections besides peaches would have been nice, but at least there was some fruit, and of course, there was that fine Greek yogurt, and cereals, cold cuts and breads.

The air conditioner was very quiet and well up to the job of keeping a room in Athens comfortable in the summer, a feature that's been problematic in the past for me in economy hotels.

The staff were all very helpful with advice. The first night I called the desk about how to use the room safe, and they had a staff member up shortly who eventually, after trying to repair it, replaced it - all this at 10 at night. The photos of the room speak for themselves; this is a small room in an economy hotel, but exceeded expectations. If I return to Athens, this is where I'll stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsam, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We recently returned from a five night stay at the Carolina Hotel in Athens. Our experience as exceptionally positive. The folks at the desk were courteous and always helpful. Though we had a basic standard room, it was well appointed, had a very comfortable bed, and was immaculate. The breakfast buffet is very good, as well. The hotel's location is perfect...only minutes from Monistriaki Station on the Metro, and only a short walk from the Plaka. It is located on a quiet street, with lots of good places to eat nearby...especially on the streets near the metro station. If you like smaller hotels that give you the real flavor of the country that you are in, then the Carolina is perfect! We recommend it without hesitation!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hotel was perfectly located for us- between the Plaka for our daytime excursions and Psirri for our late-night fun! The staff was very helpful and nice. The free internet was a great bonus! The room was quite small, but clean. The breakfast was adequate. They have an old-fashioned elevator which was fun to use!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carolina

Address: 55 Kolokotroni Str., Athens 10560 , Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carolina 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carolina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.