We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Roux

Mama Roux
48 Aiolou Str. Monastiraki Metro Station, Athens, Greece
+30 21 3004 8382
Improve this listing
Ranked #311 of 2,088 Restaurants in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 149 Reviews
Cuisines: Asian, Hamburgers, Lebanese, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Mama Roux is a casual restaurant with international cuisine on a pedestrian street in Athens's historical center. High quality ingredients, careful preparation, full bar with creative cocktails and selected wines. Elaborate Sunday brunch menu.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Stylish,cozy and alternative right in the center of Athens.the inside of the restaurant is better!funny waiters!7/10 for the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    69
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
athens greece
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Trendy but ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The idea is good: street food from all around the world in a setting that is more London than Athens - I even spotted some communal tables that were a few years ago taboo in Greece. The food was not very memorable but, all in all, a nice place to have lunch and gaze at passers by.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palairos, Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Trendy simple restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice international food, nice people in the center of Athens.
Usually full of people, it's a good choice

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I found out about this restaurant from a person I work with and I decided to try it out with a friend of mine who was in town to visit . Both of us being Americans living in Greece, we were looking for something other than the usual Greek fare. It was easy to find on Aiolou street, situated between Monastiraki and Psirri districts, and directly right across from the new Fish Spa. Upon arrival the place was quite busy and looked welcoming with a nice, funky, urban design with ample outdoor seating. This place had a bit of everything to please most palates. We ordered a cheeseburger, the falafel, and the special of the day which was blackened chicken with sweet potatoe fries and we shared all of the dishes. The quantities were great value for the price. I was a bit skeptical of how the quality of the food would be considering there were so many menu items to choose from, but when the food came it was plain to see they use fresh ingredients and after tasting each item, all were quite delicious. The falafel came in the shape of a koulouri, like a donut shape, wonderful texture crispy outside and soft inside that was served with hummus, a tahini dip, and a small tabouleh salad for 6 euros. One of the best falafel I have ever had! The cheeseburger was 10 euros and was delighted to see it came with a fresh salad and fries for the price! The chicken was not what I considered blackened like I am use to in the US South, but was indeed tenderful, juicy, and the accompanying bbq sauce was very tasty with just enough kick to it. They also had French Fischer beer on tap and we were in heaven. Service prompt and with a smile. Nice outdoor casual atmosphere. 3 plates and 4 huge beers for 45 euros, will definitely revisit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nea Erithraia, Greece
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tasty food and tastefully hip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It's always sunny at Mama Roux even on cloudy days. Loved the food each of the 3 times I have been there. The crowd is fun to look at and the food is eclectic but not the typical fusion mashup. Look out for their barbecue nights when the owner plays live music with his friends while patrons eat ribs and burgers from paper plates and dance in the street.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Roux also viewed

Glyfada, Athens
 

Been to Mama Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Roux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.