We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy simple restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Roux

Mama Roux
48 Aiolou Str. Monastiraki Metro Station, Athens, Greece
+30 21 3004 8382
Improve this listing
Ranked #267 of 1,819 restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Asian, Hamburgers, Lebanese, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Mama Roux is a casual restaurant with international cuisine on a pedestrian street in Athens's historical center. High quality ingredients, careful preparation, full bar with creative cocktails and selected wines. Elaborate Sunday brunch menu.
Palairos, Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Trendy simple restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice international food, nice people in the center of Athens.
Usually full of people, it's a good choice

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    40
    52
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I found out about this restaurant from a person I work with and I decided to try it out with a friend of mine who was in town to visit . Both of us being Americans living in Greece, we were looking for something other than the usual Greek fare. It was easy to find on Aiolou street, situated between Monastiraki and Psirri districts, and directly right across from the new Fish Spa. Upon arrival the place was quite busy and looked welcoming with a nice, funky, urban design with ample outdoor seating. This place had a bit of everything to please most palates. We ordered a cheeseburger, the falafel, and the special of the day which was blackened chicken with sweet potatoe fries and we shared all of the dishes. The quantities were great value for the price. I was a bit skeptical of how the quality of the food would be considering there were so many menu items to choose from, but when the food came it was plain to see they use fresh ingredients and after tasting each item, all were quite delicious. The falafel came in the shape of a koulouri, like a donut shape, wonderful texture crispy outside and soft inside that was served with hummus, a tahini dip, and a small tabouleh salad for 6 euros. One of the best falafel I have ever had! The cheeseburger was 10 euros and was delighted to see it came with a fresh salad and fries for the price! The chicken was not what I considered blackened like I am use to in the US South, but was indeed tenderful, juicy, and the accompanying bbq sauce was very tasty with just enough kick to it. They also had French Fischer beer on tap and we were in heaven. Service prompt and with a smile. Nice outdoor casual atmosphere. 3 plates and 4 huge beers for 45 euros, will definitely revisit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tasty food and tastefully hip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It's always sunny at Mama Roux even on cloudy days. Loved the food each of the 3 times I have been there. The crowd is fun to look at and the food is eclectic but not the typical fusion mashup. Look out for their barbecue nights when the owner plays live music with his friends while patrons eat ribs and burgers from paper plates and dance in the street.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice cosy place, needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

A nice funky rest. In a beautiful place in the heart of Athens. Nice atmosphere, young people. My burger was ok, but it could be much better for 10€. Salmon sandwich was very nice. Water glasses had a light smell. Finally I had a nice fredo espresso.
Service is good, but needs improvement.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best find of the season!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Being a great fan of the going-ons (!) of Agia Eirini square and Aiolou street, but feeling a bit fed up with the crowd at Agia Eirini, we visited Mama Roux last week on the suggestion of a friend and ended up returning there 3 times! Ok, 4 times in a week may be a bit excessive, but it comes to show that the place is really, truly worth it.

Centrally located and with extensive opening hours, it's the ideal place to meet friends for coffee/lunch/dinner/drinks/dessert, you name it! The atmosphere is informal but well-designed, much like the trendy, urban-chic cafeterias you see in places like London and New York. The menu is best described as an east-meets-west fusion type of effort, with great salads, sandwiches, mezze dishes, burgers, a few pastas, etc, most of them with a bit of a 'twist' - like the chicken tikka burger, for example.

Ok, so It is not haute cuisine but the food is freshly prepared, attractively presented and very, very reasonably priced (about 5-6 Euros for truly large salads, 8-11 for mains, around 5-8 for sandwiches/mezze dishes). You can also order half portions of many items and the drinks are great, too - we tried home-made pink lemonade and darjeeling iced-tea with freshly pressed peach pulp, garnished with mint. Beers were cold, the margharita was beautifully salty... We particularly loved the fatoush salad that comes with Syrian string cheese (or feta, if you prefer that), the succulent tandoori chicken skewer that is served with home-made chutney and raita and the falafel that look like little loukoumades , juicy and flavoursome, accompanied with a just-right portion of taboulleh and hummus. We did not try the puds, but they did look sumptuous, and we were told that everything is made on the premises, so we'll definitely have a go next time!

Although we had heard rumours that the staff is a bit off-putting, we found them all to be super helpful and pleasant, as well as efficient, particularly on Friday and Saturday evening when the place was truly heaving! -- Tip: do book a table if you want a 'guaranteed' place for dinner on Fr/Sat or brunch on Sunday.

Given how pretentious trendy and busy places like Mama Roux can be (and actually are!) we were very very happy to see that this place is both 'cool' but also welcoming and that they have kept prices genuinely reasonable.

Will we be going back? DEFINITELY!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Roux also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
Glyfada, Athens
 

Been to Mama Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Roux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.