We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, a little tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stratos Vassilikos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stratos Vassilikos to your Saves list
Stratos Vassilikos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Michalakopoulou 114, Athens 11527, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 328 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable, a little tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on my own for 4 nights whilst attending a conference nearby. Within easy walking distance of the tube station.
Staff were incredibly polite and friendly.
My room was on the quiet side of the hotel but was still quite noisy with traffic. Quite a basic room for a 5star hotel. Free wifi which you had to keep logging into every 60 mins. Bathroom was ok, powerful shower. Basic toiletries available. Whole room needed a bit of a facelift.
Gym was adequate. Treadmill, bike and some weights.
V quiet restaurant with nice food.
Would recommend if attending conference but probably more no frills than 5 star.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    175
    57
    12
    1
See reviews for
45
112
28
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I had an overnight stay in Athens, and my host suggest a few hotels, and I chose the Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Hotel. Great choice ! The receptionists all spoke excellent English, the rooms was clean and wel appointed, bed was comfortable and the shower was as almost as good a my powershower at home for 4/5 for the shower. Free breakfast (very Greek in content) which as really tasty.

Well cocomnded and a really good deal at hotels.com

Room Tip: I was on floor 4, very quiet up there !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at the Vassilikos for one night on a business trip- it'd been recommended by a friend at Athens university as she's used it for visiting colleagues previously and I was not disappointed. The staff were helpful and friendly. My room was spacious with an enormous bathroom. The bed was a little hard but I had a brilliant night's sleep. Breakfast was plentiful with a great choice. It's a 5-minute walk from a metro station and there are a few good restaurants to choose from close by so couldn't be more convenient

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A reasonable hotel, the staff were so helpful and accommodating to all our requests and needs. Location is a bit out of the action but only a short cab ride from everything you would want to see and do.

Breakfast buffet was one of the nicest I have seen in a hotel.

Rooms are quite dated and probably would classify it as five star as a result, but very large bathroom and lovely lobby and hallways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Hotel staff in this hotel were very friendly and family-like.
Sure the rooms could be better, but the overall experience in the hotel was nice.
The hotel is situated on Michaolopoulou which is further out of Athens centre/Sytagma, so it was a nice stroll back to the hotel every night (working off all the Souvlakia we ate) and out of all the riots in Athens.
The hotel lobby is really nicely decorated and i felt very safe in the area where i was situated. Would not stay in areas such as Omonia while in Athens - and this area is a much better place to stay at while in this central city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for a night in this hotel but I can say that it is not a five star hotel. The room and its bathroom had a horrible smell and only with the use of airconditioning you could stay in the room. However, beds are really clean and comfortable and the amenities offered are of the best. The reception, although tastefully designed, needs more professional staff as they seemed to have fun and laugh around while people were not around (but they could be heard from the restaurant or the lift). What is more, the main receptionist was absent when we checked out and the member of staff who was there was unable, and unauthorised to help us. So we left our laggage and came back later to take our invoice. Breakfast was very adequate with a variety of traditional products of Greece. So you had the opportunite to taste many - many products from different parts of the country without being there. Freshness of some of these products is an issue the hotel management should re-evaluate. Finally, its location is not good as it is far from the Metro station and the closest bus stop for the airport is 15 minutes walk through small streets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stratos vassilikos is a decent 5 star hotel and I would definitely recommend it to my friends.

Location:
- located on Mixalakopoulou street (10 min walk from "Megaro Mousikis" Metro Station).
- you can easily get a taxi just outside of the hotel

Room:
- Large room with big bathroom
- Noisy bathroom fan
- Mattress is hard, and pillows are too soft
- Room furniture are nice, but need cleaning
- Carpet needs cleaning
- Room lighting needs improvement

Breakfast:
- Food quality is good
- The selection of food is good but awkward (to me). Really don't know who is having alcohol or even sardines for breakfast
- Service is very good

Overall:
- Relatively low price offering good quality - Value for money
- Friendly staff
- Easy check-in / check out process
- Big rooms - Big bathrooms
- Room furniture, lobby furniture and floral "wallpaper" need some cleaning
- Elevators are small (can fit 3-4 people with no bags)
- Decoration is nice
- Location is good if you know how to move around in Athens

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Age Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#38 of 328 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airotel Alexandros
Airotel Alexandros
#93 of 328 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athinais Hotel
Athinais Hotel
#34 of 328 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#147 of 328 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#43 of 328 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratos Vassilikos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratos Vassilikos

Address: Michalakopoulou 114, Athens 11527, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#28 Business Hotel in Athens
#42 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#53 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratos Vassilikos 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new, unconventional proposal for those who seek something different in the center of Athens is the fully renovated hotel STRATOS VASSILIKOS. In the intensity of impressionism and hyperrealism, the totally renovated hotel unit is now in position to offer to the guest the emotional uplift and euphoria in combination with the coverage of his demands, in a place that combines harmonically the floral style with the frugality and relaxing mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and EasyToBook so you can book your Stratos Vassilikos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Athens
Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stratos Vassilikos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.