We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empty minibar and expensive wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of President Hotel

Save Saved
You added President Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
President Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Kifissias Avenue, Athens 11523, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 323 hotels in Athens
Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Empty minibar and expensive wifi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The review on this hotel reflect how substandard it is for a 4 star hotel. I was staying for a conference where a shuttle bus was provided, otherwise it is not particularly handy for sightseeing in Athens as everything involves a 5 euro taxi trip. The rooms were reasonably sized but decor was dated and with the oldest TV I've seen in a long while - not even flat screen, never mind plasma! The minibar was completely empty and wifi was extortionate at 8 euros/hour. There is an internet/business suite with desktop computers but even here you have to pay the same for connection.

The only redeeming feature of the hotel is the rooftop pool and bar. Though the bar prices are steep for Athens.

Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    216
    151
    47
    17
See reviews for
71
112
55
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes Town, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have stayed just for two nights at President Hotel and I am totally satisfied with my choise. The location of the hotel is very close to Metro Station so it is very convenient to move around Athens without the need of a taxi. That will save you a lot of money. My room was very nice and clean with a large bathroom and big windows overlooking Athens city from the 16th floor! Staff was friendly, and the breakfast was huge with a lot of choices for everyone. I didn't have the time to visit the rooftop, but some other guests told me that it was excellent. Overall I had a very nice stay, the price for my room was great if you think that President is a 4 star hotel so if I ever get back in Athens I'll surely stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

carefull, carefull, carefull......!!!!!!!!..this is not a 4 stars hotel. this is not a business hotel. old furniture, small CRT tv, poor quality air conditioning system with splitter and external unit under the window,i had to change the room because of the noisy air conditioner, no slippers, no minibar, not even a bottle of water. i had to ask for soap and shampoo to be refilled next day. swiming pool on the roof but opened until 7pm because of the bar. although in the same building and probably at the begining part of the hotel, the parking does not allow to entrer directly to the hotel lobby. bathroom not like in the pictures fro booking.com bath tube not clea and very old. not inspiring to have a bath but only shower. poor breakfast. elvators old and shaking...terrible sensation, only one button so you can not call elevator for up or down, it is a lottery to get the right elevator...

Room Tip: look for roms at low floors or better another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had one night to spend in athens. Knew the exact date and thought why not pay in advance and save some money. It turned out to be a bad idea! The room I was shown in was like being in a 2 star hotel! The bed was tiny. The window could not seal and heavy traffic was audible. Called them and asked for another room. The staff was very helpful and in 15 minutes I was shown to another room at the same floor(2nd) which was more spacious, better furnished, still the bed was tiny! Avoid this prepaid rooms at all costs!

On the plus the rooftop bar-restaurant is excellent. A large pool makes all the difference. Nice music, food and drinks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed overnight at the President Hotel prior to boarding a cruise ship bound for the Greek Islands in mid May.. I checked in on a Sunday afternoon and was met with very polite staff. I believe the hotel to be a little aged and in need of a renovation. However, the room was quite large, the bed comfortable and the bathroom to be larger than most. The buffet breakfast choices were varied and the lobby lounge was large enough to cater for groups of travelers. It was a little disappointing that a "4 Star" hotel in Europe did not have free wifi in the rooms as most other establishments I've stayed at almost always had their internet service as being complimentary however, there was free wifi (low signal) at the lobby.
The big draw card for the hotel was definitely the rooftop pool with a 360 degree view of Athens. The views were absolutely spectacular both day & night plus the drinks served at the pool bar were fantastic and the prices quite reasonable. For the room rates, I believe this hotel to have been suitable for my overnight stay and will most likely stay again when next I visit Athens. There is an ATM right next to the hotel along with a little stall that sells drinks, magazines and other items you might need without having to visit a grocery store. I would rate it 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed 1 night during June:

+ Big breakfast with many options.
+ Central hotel.
+ The price was great - only 63 EUR, 2 p. and breakfast included.
+There is a roofgarden but we didn't have the time to check it.
+ Book this hotel if you need a central hotel but do not plan to stay a lot indoors.

- Rooms are a bit old and need more care.
- The majority of the reception staff was not helpful, unfortunately - they do not even smile...
- The hotel is really busy and it could get crowded in elevators (max 6 people, for example we were already 5 +1 child and a huge (130+ kilos) American guy entered, we thought that the elevator won't make it for the next 2 floors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I agree with the other reviews, this is not a 4 star hotel. We picked this hotel mainly for the price and location (we didn't want to stay in the city centre).

Positive:
- Breakfast: Excellent breakfast, this was the best feature of the hotel
- Pool on the 21st floor: Very nice pool with chairs, towels and an amazing 360º view over Athens
- Comfortable bed and pillows
- Location: Safe area with a supermarket and coffee shops. 10 min walk to the nearest underground station.

Negative:
- Rooms: Need to be renovated, especially the carpets. They could also be cleaner. The tv, hairdryer and mini-fridge are old and not a 4-star hotel standard.
- Elevators: Also need to be renovated, as other reviewers mentioned, the elevators are very old and slightly scary.
- Staff: Not very friendly (except for the cleaning staff)
- Wi-Fi charges: Wi-Fi is not free, it costs 4 euros for one hour. We were surprised by this, even small hotels and restaurants have free wi-fi nowadays.

This hotel would be fine for a 3 star but we were expecting more for a 4 star hotel at 63 euros per night. For this price I would recommend looking for a better hotel in Athens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 43 Kifissias Avenue, Athens 11523, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 323 hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage President Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.