We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added President Hotel to your Saves list
President Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Kifissias Avenue, Athens 11523, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Top value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Since 1992 every time I visit Athens I stay at this hotel, either alone or with my family. In the year 2001 they made a total restoration. It has 20 floors and is one of the very few skyscrapers of Athens. Its location is very good, as you can go there from the airport with the subway (METRO) and the metro station is a less than 10 minutes walk. Also the bus stop from the express bus line (X 95) from the airport to Syntagma Square is a less than 10 minutes walk. Near the hotel in Alexandras Avenue you can find a lot of good restaurants, bars etc. Also a variety of shops is around the hotel and a large CARREFOUR Super Market is a 5 minutes walk away. The area of the hotel is safe and you are not going to have bad feelings even late in the night. I had a a single room with a nice twin bed on the 15th floor. It was located beside the escape stairs, at the back of the hotel, so it was very quiet. If you get rooms in the front of the hotel, on Kifissias Avenue, they have a lot of noise from the street, so you better ask for rooms on the high floors. I didn 't have the best view from my room, as other rooms have breathtaking views to the sea, the Acropolis and Lycabettus Hill, but it didn 't bother me, as I was on a business trip. The bathroom was big. Everything was very clean. The sheets and pillows were new with the mark of the hotel. The rooms have no central heating, but an independent air-condition. Although it was January, I didn 't need to use it. The reception was refurnished and the staff there was polite and helpful and the service was fast. There is a breakfast buffet in the basement. You can find a lot of things to eat and keep you strong for a day! It 's not the best breakfast you can find, but it 's OK enough. On the roof there is a bar and an open-air swimming pool in the summer with astonishing views. If you want to visit Athens and be in a central location in a not expensive hotel, this 4 star hotel is top value and in a place where you can go everywhere. At its point you are not going to face problems with demonstrations and all this stuff which are usual in Athens the late years. I suggest it absolutely!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the higher floors. The rooms in the front have noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    246
    210
    62
    30
See reviews for
100
152
68
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel,kind hospitality,wonderful view,and perfect breakfast..only the elevators were too slow and bit claustrophobic.but no matter that,for sure i would stay in this hotel again.I recommend it to everybody.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

As cabin crew, I spend a lot of time in hotels, and I must admit the President Hotel was one of those hotels that surprise one with the friendly warm hospitality of the staff, the grand decor and incredible penthouse to be found at the top! And I say, surprising, because of the great value for money this hotel offers. It is central, a stone's throw away from 2 metro stops and offers good service. The rooms are spacious and adequately equipped with all you need and relatively comfortable beds make it a good night's rest.

The one let-down was the breakfast offered - it wasn't great. I've had better.

The penthouse is its greatest asset however. With a swimming pool, deck chairs, restaurant and late-opening bar serving wine, cocktails, champagne this is where we spent most of our time! 360 degree panoramic views across the city is a bonus!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Sorry but that hotel was not good at all. For one night stay good but not longer.
The service is very unfriendly. The breakfast was properly the best of the stay.
The room was not clean and the windows where dirty. I had the feeling that the bathroom wasn't cleaned before i arrived.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Donegal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The pics of the hotel speak for themselves, splashed out a little bit more for this but was well worth it. We were upgraded by reception to a brilliant room with a huge view of Athens. All amenities were top class. Five minute walk to subway.

Just the way to end a great trip. Brilliant

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel.
Good value for money, although rooms can be a bit noisy if you leave a window slightly open.
I dont like sleeping with the airconditioning on 24/7 so at night I use the sleep funtion, but leave the window a crack open.

Naturally being in a big busy city, it does get quite noisy day or night.

Breakfast is also quite nice.
Its a bit of a walk to the Metro though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Went to a conference at the Megaron and stayed at the President Hotel for 4 nights. Rooms clean and comfortable, staff very friendly and good value for money. Big selection for breakfast, did not try the restaurant though. There are plenty of restaurants and bars around if you are willing to walk around. Acropolis is a good 45 minute walk from hotel, but there are easy transport links. 5/10 minute walk to 2 Metro stations and nearby bus stops. The rooftop bar is a must as it has excellent views of Athens.

On the whole a good experience, would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 43 Kifissias Avenue, Athens 11523, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage President Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.