We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and simple in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airotel Parthenon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Airotel Parthenon to your Saves list
Airotel Parthenon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makri 6, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming and simple in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The rooms are small and simple (double beds consist of two singles pushed together) but contain a surprisingly nice bathroom, a mini-fridge and a small television. In our room, there was also a small balcony that looked out onto the street.
The staff were incredibly nice and helpful, always patient with us and ready to help. If you ask, they will recommend/book a very nice (and often not so touristy) restaurant.
The hotel is located in quite a touristy area, very near the Plaka and minutes away from the Acropolis, the new Acropolis museum, hadrians gate and countless other landmarks. This is both a downside and an upside. If you go in summer (as we did) the place is incredibly crowded and boiling hot. You can, however, see the Acropolis in all it's glory wherever you walk around the area.
A buffet breakfast is provided and is extremlely varied, if a little strange. Bacon, eggs, cereal, vine leaves, assortments of cakes and many other breakfast foods are offered.
We found the Airotel Parthenon to be extremley charming and very simple. I would not recommend it to those looking for a luxurious getaway, but I would recommend it to those looking for simple accomodation in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    453
    134
    29
    15
See reviews for
175
480
53
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

They went out of their way to walk several blocks back to my car, to help me through the maze of one way streets and park it at the hotel in the middle of the night. Service was like this consistently. The hotel was superb, great value for the money, outstanding breakfast, and in a fantastic location a stone's throw from the New Parthenon Museum - and yet managed to be in a quiet residential neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We spent one night at this hotel before joining a cruise ship. The location is excellent. Right on the edge of the Plaka, one minutes walk from a selection of restaurants, five minutes walk from the new museum and to the bottom of the Acropolis.
Entrance hall and reception spacious, clean and airconditioned. We were able to leave our luggage the following day after checking out at noon and then return to the lounge in the afternoon to await our taxi transfer. Staff very helpful and booked a good restaurant for us in the evening. Breakfast excellent - lots of choice and variety. Rooms clean but basic - we had two double rooms and a triple room. The triple room was fairly crowded but excellent value for money compared to other hotels in Athens. I think the double room cost less than £90/night for B&B in July.
We used two firms for taxis transfer. I booked the transfer on the internet. Email communication was excellent and the taxis were awaiting our arrival at the airport. We used the taxis from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to the port. We can highly recommend Christos at Greece Cab and John at Athens Tour Guide for taxi transfer and as tour guides.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mryjane1234
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Location is in the pedestrian area of Athens. Easy to get to the Acropolis, the new museum and many good restaurants. The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

My daughter and I spent 3 days at the Parthenon, and not only was it situated in the best location for the Acropolis, Monastariki, and the Plaka districts, the restaurant at the top of the hill was lovely. The staff were amazing, very helpful, and pleasant. We walked the streets up until 11:oopm and were safe. Loved this hotel, and Athens.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Yes, I know it's been said before, by many other reviewers in Tripadvisor and elsewhere, but it definitely bears repeating -- the Parthenon Hotel could not be better situated for Athens tourists. On a quiet street at the edge of the Plaka, one street from the Akropoli metro station, two streets from the new museum, a few short blocks from the Acropolis entrance -- sightseeing, dining, shopping, and strolling are a pleasure when you are within a very short walk of your hotel. The rooms are bigger than many European hotel rooms we've stayed in and the breakfast is better. The air conditioning satisfies the most demanding North American tastes -- the frigid hallway outside our room was simply delicious upon our late-night return from the Greek islands. The WIFI was trouble-free, too. One tiny comment: the front desk staff is efficient and businesslike but (with two exceptions) I would not consider them welcoming or warm. Our maid, on the other hand, was absolutely charming and managed to be kind without speaking a word of English. I loved the street party atmosphere of this area and I'd recommend the Parthenon Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Myself and my partner stayed in the Parthenon Hotel for 3 nights in total in June. We arrived very late and the hotel staff were helpful in directing us to the main areas of athens so we could eat. The reception staff came across as very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and were able to make reservations for us at one of the most populated restaurants in athens. However, perhaps unknown to the hotel staff, although English, my partner can speak fluent Greek and unfortunately caught the hotel staff having a good laugh about one of the hotel guests and a complaint they had put in about dirty towels... which is a little bit worrying...

The hotel itself has an almost unbeatable location but i still think the hotel probably deserves one less star than it boasts. The breakfasts were rather 'plastic', the fruit wasn't fresh and the juice watered down for example. The rooms were very basic however ours was clean so we had a comfortable stay.

All in all a good stay bar a few issues, however the hotel is fairly pricey so I personally would hesitate before booking again here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airotel Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Parthenon

Address: Makri 6, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#45 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#48 Family Hotel in Athens
#59 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Parthenon 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-Story Hotel situated in central location; across from the Plaka district/Old City; ten minute walk from the Acropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Airotel Parthenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Parthenon Athens
Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens
Parthenon Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airotel Parthenon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.