We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airotel Parthenon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Airotel Parthenon to your Saves list
Airotel Parthenon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makri 6, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Valdosta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel was a great place to stay during our trip. It was in a great location- close to the metro, great restaurants, local shopping, and of cousre, the sights. Most things were in walking distance but the metro made getting around very easy (including to and from the airport). Hotel staff were amazing- very knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast was out of this world. The room was clean, well stocked, and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    456
    136
    30
    15
See reviews for
177
485
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Now when I think back Hotel Parthenon was a wise choice to stay in Athens, Greece. Location wise for any tourist who is in Athens for sightseeing, this hotel gets a 5 on 5. All the major ruins, Athens Museum, Plaka are all within walking distance from the hotel. Syntagma Square and National Museum are at a distance.

For the facilities at the hotel room I would give a rating of 3 on 5. Just the bare necessities were provided. Beds done okay with no frills but definitely clean. Toilet was spacious and basic toiletries. When they charged us for the little water bottles in the room I was surprised. A 4 star hotel in India doesn’t charge for this basic need of any traveler!

The breakfast buffet deserves 4.5 on 5. What a spread! Special thanks to the courteous staff there. We had a enjoyable, memorable stay!

Room Tip: They charge for the for the little water bottles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in 2 different rooms for a total of 5 nights throughout the past two weeks...currently on my fourth night. Rooms are average. The bathrooms seem dirty with poor drainage. The current room has 3 burnt out light bulbs and a toilet with the water currently running. Stains in the toilet from the running water which obviously has not been fixed. They advertise "free internet", but the speed is around dial-up. Very frustrating to use the internet on a phone, tablet, or laptop because it is so slow. They offer a paid version; however, I am not will to pay more than 10 euro for 1 night of internet. The lobby is clean but always has loud music from the bar playing. Staff is friendly. Great location with close proximity to the Parthenon, shops, restaurants, and metro (subway).

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GROUP-AIROTEL, Guest Service Manager at Airotel Parthenon, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear L2279FGjm,

Please accept our sincere apologies for not enjoying your stay with us.
Within this year we plan to renovate some public areas and rooms that need refurbishment. As far as it concerns the internet speed, please note that we have already taken the necessary measures in order to upgrade the connection.
Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and all the hotel staff tries to fulfill this commitment by creating a warm and friendly atmosphere.
We really hope that you will give us the pleasure to welcoming you again in our premises.
Kind regards,
Dimitris Koursaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a good alternative if you are looking for a hotel close to Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum. The closest metro station is just one block away.
Officially this is a four star hotel but I am not quite sure about the 4th star. The hotel is not new and the maintenance has not been very good at all times.
But the rooms have balconies, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms have been renovated. The wifi works well and you can manage well with the speed the "free" package includes.
If you arrive with a car it is not very easy to navigate to the hotel especially as no parking is available here. The best alternative is to use one of the private carparks on Syngrou and walk the last stretch.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GROUP-AIROTEL, Guest Relations Manager at Airotel Parthenon, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear finland49,
At first we would like to thank you for choosing the Airotel Parthenon for your stay in Athens. According to your recent review about our hotel, we would like to express our deepest apologies for not being satisfied as you expected. The truth is, that some of our hotel rooms need a renovation. Incidents like this we will always take it seriously into consideration and we do our best in order to improve our product and services. Also, we would like to thank you for your good comments about our hotel.
We are happy of having you as a guest and it will be our pleasure to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Dimitris Koursaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Arabia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I echo the sentiment that properties advertised as 4 or 5 stars on Hotwire often use a very skewed interpretation of what such ratings actually mean. That being said, I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel, which I snagged for under $60. While it is not the Ritz or a boutique property, its location (at the foot of the Acropolis and 1-minute from the Metro, which makes access from the airport very convenient), and service can't be beat. The staff are very friendly and professional. The room I had was fairly large,clean, had a comfy bed (although the sheets didn't quite fit), a decent bathroom and very responsive Wifi. It's true there was no view, but one need only walk about 100m to see one of the most iconic monuments in human history. The included breakfast had a reasonable selection of breads, cereals, vegetables, fruits, cheese, etc. I thought it was great value for money and a very good choice for tourists.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location was excellent, near to everything worth seeing. The room was a bit of a disappoiment. The bathroom was quite worn and damp, the room was tiny, the ac and the wifi weren't working properly. Breakfast was ok, but quite basic.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GROUP-AIROTEL, Guest Relations Manager at Airotel Parthenon, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kiiki 80,

At first we would like to thank you for choosing the Airotel Parthenon for your stay in Athens.
According to your recent review about our hotel, we would like to express our deepest apologies for not being satisfied as you expected. The truth is that some of the hotel rooms need a renovation.
Also, let me to inform you, that this has been already scheduled and in some of our rooms a refurbishment has already started.
Moreover, we would like to inform you that your comment has been strongly pointed out to the management in order to improve our product and services.

We are happy of having you as a guest and it will be our pleasure to welcoming you again in

Kind regards,
Dimitris Koursaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Certainly this is not a 4 star hotel (by US standards) as was advertised by Hotwire, where I booked it. And the price was so low I do not even want to mention it here (way below $100 a night). But it is solid 3 stars, and in an outstanding location, just steps from Acropolis. Minor problems include: no dark window shades, so during the day room is full of light, even if you want to sleep; the only reliable english TV channel was BBC news; TV is too small.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airotel Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Parthenon

Address: Makri 6, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#48 Family Hotel in Athens
#60 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Parthenon 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-Story Hotel situated in central location; across from the Plaka district/Old City; ten minute walk from the Acropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Airotel Parthenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Parthenon Athens
Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens
Parthenon Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airotel Parthenon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.