We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for an off-season Athens city break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airotel Parthenon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Airotel Parthenon to your Saves list
Airotel Parthenon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makri 6, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 323 Hotels in Athens
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good choice for an off-season Athens city break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I just returned from 4 nights at the Airotel Parthenon, and was overall very pleased with my stay. There are two highlights at this property- the location and the staff. It's easy to access from the airport, thanks to the nearby Metro stop, it's right around the corner from the Plaka neighborhood and a 2 minute walk away from the Acropolis and Acropolis museum, yet the street itself is quiet and peaceful, so you get the best of both worlds! The staff were outstanding as well, happy to answer any questions about the area, transportation, restaurant recommendations, etc. I had a very early flight back to Poland, early enough that the Metro wouldn't be running when I needed to get to the airport, and they arranged a wake-up call, airport transfer and an early breakfast for me, which made the morning much less stressful.

The area that I think the Parthenon could improve on most are the rooms themselves. I had a comfortable bed, but the rooms lack character and feel very impersonal, like you could be anywhere in the world. The walls are also quite thin- I'm a light sleeper, and was frequently woken up by conversations or television coming from adjoining rooms. I was also baffled to see the rooms didn't have alarm clocks or Do Not Disturb signs, (in a 4 star hotel? Really?) and the climate system was rather odd in that it didn't have a "fan" setting, just heating or air-conditioning, neither of which you really want in Athens in February. I didn't spend much time in my room, but it's clear to me that the rooms don't match the outstanding service and location of the Parthenon.

Still, unless you require a lot of creature comforts or can't sleep unless you're surrounded by designer furnishings, I would still recommend this hotel, particularly if it's your first time in the city- the location and staff are that good.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor if possible, to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    449
    133
    28
    15
See reviews for
175
477
53
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Can't beat the location! Walking distance to so many landmarks as well as a nice shopping/touristy area. The gelato place around the corner was fabulous!
On a big group (about 40 people) trip we stayed here two nights total. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, as were the bathrooms. The restaurant was lovely, especially the breakfast. The WiFi only seemed to work in certain parts of the hotel which was annoying.
Since the cost was part of the one fee paid to the tour company, I cannot speak to the value for the dollar, and I did not visit the pool or fitness center.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Athens.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is located really close to the metro station Akropolis, it's next to the Acropolis and from Plaka, at walking distance from the main attractions.The hotel is nice, and the room was big and clean. The staff was helpfull

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great location for access to Acropolis and the Museum, Plaka, local restaurants, Syntagma square, etc.
Hotel has fine arrangement for airport transfers.
Several nice choices for breakfast, for the energy for the day.
Rooms comfortable, but somehow could be better

Room Tip: An Outside room is somewhat larger, and have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice modern rooms , great food and fantastic staff.... Its very central to every major sight in Athens like the Acropolis and Plaka and the Acropolis Museum to name a few. Its in a nice alley which feels pretty safe and has amazing views. I wouldnt mind going back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have just spent 7 nights at the Parthenon. This hotel is fantastic, the value is hard to beat. If you are after a hotel that does the little things right, this is the one. We found it clean, comfortable, very well located next to the Plaka and the Acropolis and in a quiet street right near the Acropolis metro station. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Wireless Internet worked perfectly in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I would recommend this to all. Great view of the acropolis and the surrounding streets from both our balcony and the rooftop restaurant. Within walking distance of everything you would want to see while in Athens including the Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, Agora, Plaka, Olympic Stadium, Parliment Building, Acropolis Museum. National Gardens and all the restaurants and shopping one could handle. The only place we took a taxi to was the National Museum. We did not use it, but for those who are not walkers, the metro is one block away and taxis are cheap. Last but not least the rooms were clean, nicely decorated, had comfortable beds and the staff was helpful, friendly, informative and courteous. An overall pleasure to work with. Photos were taken from our balcony.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Airotel Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Parthenon

Address: Makri 6, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#50 Family Hotel in Athens
#57 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Parthenon 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-Story Hotel situated in central location; across from the Plaka district/Old City; ten minute walk from the Acropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Airotel Parthenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Parthenon Athens
Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens
Parthenon Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airotel Parthenon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.