We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arethusa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arethusa Hotel to your Saves list
Arethusa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Mitropoleos & 12 Nikis St, Athens 10563, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Like most people say. See Athens in a day then get out! The hotel had a phenomenal location within walking distance of the acropolis and was right next to syntagma square and train station (a direct train line from the airport). It was a pretty clean room with comfortable beds, but the walls were paper thin - you could hear EVERYTHING. It was also next to the shops and lots of restaurants. The breakfast was pretty average and the wifi was atrociously bad!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    128
    146
    58
    24
See reviews for
66
131
63
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent nine nights here and had a great time. Our goal was to see Athens and Greece,not to hang out in a fancy hotel, so the Arethusa was just what we needed. It is clean, comfortable, safe, friendly, very affordable and extremely well-located.
The hotel is only one block from Syntagma Square which is action central for Athens. We started each day with a bountiful, free breakfast buffet before heading out to see the incredible sights of Athens. There are many nearby restaurants within walking distance. It is easy to get around Athens without a car. We took advantage of the two day offer and rode the Open Tour sightseeing busses to orient ourselves to Athens. Ivis Travel, located across the street from the Arethusa hotel and half a block closer to Syntagma Square, arranged guided tours by bus for us to Delphi, Ancient Corinth, Epidaurus, Mycenae and a one day cruise to three fun and interesting nearby islands; Aegina, Poros and Hydra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

PROS: 1. Near Syntagma square where has X95 airport bus and metro. 2. Near Ermou Street where you can buy foods and clothes. 3. Many restaurants are around. 4. It has central air conditioner, although you can not adjust the temperature.

CONS: 1. We got a diry bed sheet. The main part of it was no longer white and obviously gets yellow. 2. The electricity of my room was suddenly cut off right after my wife just opened a light at night. I had to get up and report it to the front desk. He finally fixed it. 3. Wifi is available. But only in the lobby and breakfast restaurant you can use it normally. 4. The breakfast is so so. Since it is free, we should not expect too much. But the woman works for the breakfast restaurant is rude. She wanted to flip fried eggs. So she rudely wrested the clamp from my wife's hand when she is using it to get a piece of bread. 5. The shower head in my room can not be hanged on the wall. I think not every room has this problem but it is really ridiculous.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 807! The shower head can not he hanged on the wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a very convenient location. But that's about it.
The internet was useless. Even though it was free you may as well have not offered it due to the constant disconnections.
The room was old and run down. The bedroom was spacious enough but the bathroom was extremely small.
In the morning I was woken by the cleaning staff who opened the door and asked when I was leaving! This was unacceptable. At 8am with a checkout time of 11 or 12 I should be able to leave when ready without someone opening my door at their own convience. I felt I had no privacy and uncomfortable staying there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The location of this hotel is pinpoint perfect and if you are in Athens only as short time then it is perfect, Easy to get to, close to everything and the underground is only a 2 minute walk away. The hotel itself is OK. decent value with a basic enough room. No complaints really but its a little dated

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I came into Athens really late at night, and Arethusa was very conveniently located across the street from the airport express bus. The price was amazing for this location, as many hotels in the area are very expensive. The room was ok and had all of the basics. The decor/bedding was a bit dated and worn. The bed was a bit uncomfortable, and the door's bolt lock did not work. The staff were not that friendly. However, the breakfast was decent and the location made up for everything else. If you want to stay near Syntagma on a budget, this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Arethusa on a tour of Greece. We stayed there when we arrived for one night and one night on our return to Athens. Our first room faced the main street and was very noisy but our second night on our return was facing a quieter street and was better. The rooms were pleasant, clean and roomy. The elevator was small and a bit of a challenge when you have 2 people with suitcases. But we found this to be common in most of the hotels in Greece. It is in a great location and close to lots of restaurants and sites. There is a little train called the "Happy Train" that picks you up close by and takes you on an hour tour of the city. You can hop on hop off but we just stayed on. It takes you into all the little streets and squares and is worth taking for just a few Euros. Breakfast was provided with the European plan and it was buffet style. It was ok but not the best as the eggs and everything that was supposed to be hot was cold. If you are not expecting anything fancy but want a great location this hotel is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: As for a room that does not face the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arethusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arethusa Hotel

Address: 6-8 Mitropoleos & 12 Nikis St, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arethusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arethusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arethusa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.