We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, service and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arethusa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arethusa Hotel to your Saves list
Arethusa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Mitropoleos & 12 Nikis St, Athens 10563, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best location, service and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located a couple of steps from Syntagma Square, the airport bus terminal, the Syntagma metro station, the Plaka area, the Acropolis and everything you want to visit. All these at a fantastic price. Accessibility, service, price and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    128
    146
    58
    24
See reviews for
66
131
63
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
larnaca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in Arethusa hotel for the first time for 4 nights. We definitely will stay there again. We stayed in room 305. As step out of the airport bus x95 which park on the side of Syntagma Square (by the way is the cheapest way to go to Syntagma 5 euros) we could see the hotel sign.We have no complaints at all. Very good location, very good breakfast, very clean, hot water elevator, Is only few steps for Syntagma, ermou shopping center, restaurants, cafes.Monastiraki square is not far. We recommend puplic roof garden cafe and restaurant. You have a fantastic view of Syntagma square especially in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've lost count of the number of times I've stayed at the Arethusa - 13 or 14 times since I was 8 years old. I love it for its central location - wedged between Syntagma, Plaka and Monastiraki and right in the heart of the Ermou shopping district.

As others have commented, the breakfast buffet is excellent - my most vivid Athens memory as an 8 year old is sitting in the window booth, eating croissants and watching Athenians head out to do their business. One of the reasons I keep coming back is because nothing has changed - but that may also be the hotel's greatest problem. The rooms are looking tired.

Last time I paid 88Euro - the next week 91Euro at the Intercontinental.

I love the Arethusa (in 2001 it even rocked me gently and safely through a 3am, 6.5 quake) but value for money these days...

Room Tip: Single rooms can be hard to find in Athens - the Arethusa has a very good selection; they are spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Me and my fried stayed in Arethusa for 2 days, we didn't spend much time in the hotel because came there exactly to SEE Athens. We took train from Thessaloniki and got to the hotel on metro, it was early morning and after checking which rooms are avaliable receptionist agreed to put us in free room at 9, in spite of time of check-in is 14! nice decision)
The hotel is situated in the center of the city, metro, bus stations, the main square Syntahma is in 2 min walk. So situation is very nice, what is up to the room, it's quiet good, we were on DBL, everything is like in usual 3* hotel, the only thing I didn't like is small shower cabin. Breakfast had quiet big variety of things, so you wouldn't leave hungry :) About staff: ladies from housekeeping, from bouffet worked in very pleasant manner, but night receprionist was not so friendly)

Room Tip: you will have better view on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limassol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed on the 6th floor room 608 for 4 nights.
You can see the Hotel sign when you step off the Airport bus 95X where it parks on the side of Sytagma Square which is very reassuring when you are in a strange location, the fare is 5 Euro's.
I have no complaints at all regarding this Hotel, the breakfast is very good and plenty of variety.
Room was nice and warm and an abundance of hot water, room service was good and also the WiFi in the room was superb.
Because our flight was late afternoon, we had complimentary use of the room after the normal check out time for Midday.
All in all and with its excellent location the Arethusa was superb value and I will certainly stop there again on my next trip to Athens

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The room was spacious and the beds were about as comfortable as you get in Europe without being 5 stars. Breakfast buffet had a good selection. The key to this hotel is being close to Syntagma square. From the airport you can ride for about 6 Euros versus 50 for a cab ride. With one connection you can also catch the metro from Piraeus and return. You are centrally located close to the Acropolis, the Plaka (shopping), the Temple of Zeus, the ancient Agora, Hard Rock Cafe...
Try Ithaki barbecue about 3 blocks toward the Plaka (also rated on TA)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

As mentioned in other reviews, it is really close to both buses and the subway. Especially convenient for arriving from the airport. The entryway pictures make it look like it is off to a side street, but it is really on Mitropoleos. It includes breakfast on the spot, pretty generous. They have good size rooms and renovated bathrooms. It is in Central Athens so there are many restaurants close by. Strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arethusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arethusa Hotel

Address: 6-8 Mitropoleos & 12 Nikis St, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arethusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arethusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arethusa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.