We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT STAY IN ATHENS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arethusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arethusa Hotel to your Saves list
Arethusa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Mitropoleos & 12 Nikis St, Athens 10563, Greece (Syntagma)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAY IN ATHENS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

In the center of Athens, near the metro station, Monastiraki place, I enjoyed very much the "business"
stay for two days (one night). The stuff was very polite and friendly. The room and the WC were not
luxury, but confortable and clean. I would stay now in Arethusa in all my trips in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    144
    154
    58
    24
See reviews for
68
141
69
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Patras, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Location excellant in central Athens. Our room was large, clean and comfortable and we were pleasantly surprised to find a small fridge in the room, good for a cool drink. The bathroom was small but no problem everything worked well. Unfortunately the safe had been left locked by a previous guest and the staff could not open it. We were given a key for a safe deposit box in reception so problem solved. We had no problem with the lift although very small and could be a problem if you had a lot of luggage. It takes 4 people but it is a tight fit. Two steps between reception and the lifts could be a problem as it is rather dark and care needs to be taken to avoid a fall. We found the breakfast OK except staff were slow to replenish the hot food when it ran out. Cold foods were good also the coffee but the fruit juice was watery.Staff were very helpful even carrying our luggage to the taxi rank and refusing a tip.
We would stay again when in Athens.
Please note: Take care if taking a taxi from the bus station etc. The driver we had tried the old trick of swapping our 50 euro note for a 10 saying we had not given him enough. We were aware of this trick, it does happen in Athens, and told the driver we live in Greece and knew what he was his intention. He then smiled and gave the correct change.

Room Tip: Sixth floor very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I enjoyed my one night stay in this well positioned hotel. The staff were friendly and the hotel was well maintained and clean. The room was very large and airy.
Breakfast was basic but plentiful and the breakfast room was very pleasant.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location was wonderful because it was in downtown Athens. The bathroom was new even though the shower was very very small. The continental breakfast had the usual breads and cheeses but also offered eggs. However, the beds were hard as rock. The elevators to your room are very tiny and can only fit one person at a time. The steps down to the lobby were not marked well and anyone could easily fall down them. The issue my friend and I had the most with this hotel is the service from the staff. The front desk people were unfriendly, unhelpful, and rude. I telephoned down for help with the safe and I heard an impatient sign from the person at the front desk. Anytime we tried to greet people at the desk, we found miserable faces and were often ignored. When we left, we had to drag our luggage down steps from the elevator without help. Hotel staff watched us struggle and didn't offer to assist in any way. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again. There are better downtown hotels in Athens. If we hadn't prepaid our room, we would have left.

Room Tip: A central location saves you money on transportation and you can better explore the community. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Arethousa is very well located for travel in and out of Athens. The hotel is well run with fine staff and the rooms are clean. The air-conditioning could be a bit better (my room was a consistent 28C which is a tinge warm). I will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miskolc, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Excellent location for travellers using public transport (Bus nr. X95 from airport stops very close, trams to Pireus or south-seeside area and underground station also are in 2 minutes distance by walk with luggages!). It is very close to Syntagma and also to Plaka (4 minutes). Safe surroundings.
Rooms are large enough but need renewal. Windows and doors need replacement. Our rooms were on third floor and were noisy. Curtain let the raising sun to look inside the room. Breakfast was good and quite rich. Hotel is clean, staff friendly and helpful. Value for money.

Room Tip: Higher rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel three times, both as part of a tour group and on our own. In fact, the main reason I booked this hotel on my own was because the tour group was staying there and it was convenient to stay in the same hotel both before and after leaving the tour. The hotel is convenient to Syntagma Square and if you’re coming from the airport you can take either the 95X bus (catch it at door 4) or the Metro to Syntagma square (we took the bus as it’s cheaper and less hassle than the Metro). Ask for a senior discount if you’re over 65. The bus takes longer but if you have luggage is easier than the Metro. Once you get to Syntagma Square, just walk downhill on the street on the south side of the square. When you get to the bottom of the square you’ll see the sign for the hotel ahead of you on your right. Our first room (706) was plain but roomy by European standards. Twin beds, a couch, a coffee table, a desk and two end tables. Wooden floors in the room and a tile floor in the bathroom. Very clean and kept that way throughout our stay; fresh towels daily. The beds were pretty soft and my partner didn’t like hers but it was fine for me. The shower was quite small and there was no bracket to hang up the shower hose, so you just had to soap down and hose off. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom. Free w-fi service is available in the rooms and is reasonably speedy. It’s on a fairly quiet street and on the 7th floor there wasn’t too much road noise. If they decide to demonstrate in Syntagma Square, though, it might be noisy. On the third evening our door lock stopped working (dead battery) and they moved us to room 708. Similar to room 706 except this one had a tub as well as a shower. The beds seemed to be firmer in this room, too. When we returned from the tour we had room 307, which very similar to room 706. We then went to Meteora and when we returned from that trip we had room 810, similar to rooms 307 and 706 but on the back side of the building and very quiet. The breakfast buffet was very adequate. All in all, a decent place to stay at a reasonable price. If this hotel is full you can try the Pan Hotel across the street, which looks to be similar in amenities and price.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arethusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arethusa Hotel

Address: 6-8 Mitropoleos & 12 Nikis St, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arethusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Arethusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arethusa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.