We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animal cruelty at its finest...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of National Gardens

National Gardens
off Amalias St., Athens 999-20, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 178 Attractions in Athens
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This beautiful oasis offers a soothing respite of greenery from the big city with many benches for picnicking, cafes, duck ponds and a small zoo.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Animal cruelty at its finest...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We were very disgusted with the state of the "habitats" for the animals. For example, the tiny pond for the turtle was so crammed full of turtles that they had literally no space to stand unless they choose to crawl over one another or swim in the filth surrounding them. We went on to witness the same situation with the rest of the animals. In fact, we left the park feeling guilty for even have visited in the first place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    73
    33
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“A beautiful and peaceful place to walk around and see all kids of birds and ponds full of turtles.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

If you are a Nature lover, you will cherish this visit to the National Garden of Athens. You can reach it by taking the Metro or by bus. There are many trails as you walk in. Beautiful trees, bushes and all kinds of flowers. There are benches everywhere to sit on and rest. This is a nice break after you've toured the city and just want to relax and take pictures. There are huge tall caged in area that contain all kinds of birds, including peacocks. As you walk along you will discover a pond full of turtles. This is a wonderful place to bring your children and grandchildren. On a hot day in Athens, this is the perfect place to go to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Bring your camera and maybe some snacks for the a little picnic on the benches here and there. And for what it's worth, there is a clean public restroom in this park, something not available in the city. Set aside a couple hours to enjoy this natural treasure!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Targoviste, Romania
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice place to walk in a hot day..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Located in the center of Athens, very close to the Greek Parliament and Syntagma Square, the National Gardens have a calm atmosphere and they are perfect for a quiet walk in a hot day.. The vegetation is nice and it completes the landscape...

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Zappeio Park playground not worth a special visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We didn't so much visit the National Gardens but just the Zappeio Park playground. We had spent a full day out sightseeing with our one-year old so wanted to stop off at the playground for his benefit. It was en route for us but otherwise I wouldn't make a special effort to visit. It was enclosed and seemed safe enough but the equipment had certainly seen better days - a lot was broken or bits were missing. There was a great swinging birds nest type thing (? don't know my playground equipment names yet!) in the middle but apart from that it was quite sad. We didn't see the rest of the park so can't comment on that.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sad for the Ducks!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

OK- I like to visit gardens in major cities and this is the most underwhelming I've ever visited. Not only is there a sense that the government must be really having money problems, but the ducks and other animals are living in squalor. The ducks have no water to swim in!!!!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gardens also viewed

 

Been to National Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.