We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Paths, Great Kids Library” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Gardens

National Gardens
off Amalias St., Athens 999-20, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 193 attractions in Athens
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This beautiful oasis offers a soothing respite of greenery from the big city with many benches for picnicking, cafes, duck ponds and a small zoo.
Issaquah, WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice Paths, Great Kids Library”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went through the Gardens on our Athens Walking Tour, and enjoyed the escape from the city streets, looking at palm trees, and seeing the old men debate politics. We went back later just to cut through a prettier place, and I didn't like that the borders of the park were very dirty. My daughter's favorite part was climbing a huge tree in the middle of the park. My favorite part was a little gem of a children's library we stumbled upon; the most beautiful place I can imagine my daughter curling up in to read! The librarian didn't speak a lot of english, but was very kind and let us look at the books and take photos. We could have stayed in there all day!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    47
    20
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“You can get lost in the beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stumbled upon the gardens unexpectedly, but was amazed by the flowers, trees, bridges, fountains, sundial that can be found on site. Nice public garden that was built in the 1800's.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Peacefl oasis in the heart of Athens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

National Gardens is the one of the coolest green areas in Athens, situated next to Sintagma Sq. so you can enter the gardens for free, sit on the bench and write a book in peaceful area without those crowds you can meet near Acropolis. It's a very good place to rest from the sun heat and also very calm with no crowds.
Can be easily reached via public transport as well. Near the entrance you can buy a bottle of water (highly rececommended while high heats) and something sweet to craving.
Don't miss to visit this place - it's really green and worth of time for relax for you and your body and soul.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“On oasis in the heart of Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The gardens are not well-preserved but you will feel so calm and peaceful in there, that you will not wish to get out in the noisy center of Athens! Take your time, check out the scenery and sit on the benches available here and there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Possibly the coolest open space in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Full of various trees and plants from all over the world, this Garden in the heart of Athens offers a very welcome walk away from the buzz of the city at any time, as well as a place to cool off in the hot Greek summers... The temperature here is always a few degrees lower that in the rest of the city!! The residents of Athens love their National (former "Royal") Garden and they come often here for a stroll, a coffee or an ouzo in the small cafe, some quiet time to read or to chat with friends or to be with themselves in peace... A precious place in a city that -unfortunately- does not benefit from many green spaces!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gardens also viewed

 

Been to National Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Gardens to your Saves list