We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view of the city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos)

Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos)
Athens 99920, Greece
01-722-7065
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 178 Attractions in Athens
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk or take the funicular tramway to the top of this hill for the best views of Athens
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing view of the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a "must visit" place, a mount that touch the sky and takes you straight on top of Athens!
There is also a very nice restaurant on top where it is possible to enjoy a good cuisine with an astonishing panoramic view!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    289
    96
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Walk up if you are reasonably fit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

It is not a hard climb to the top so I would recommend that you walk up so that you can enjoy the views the whole way up. What when you get to the top, buy a can of beer and relax and enjoy the views. You will see all of the places you have visited in Athens and is is great to see them in relation to one another. I think this is second only to the Acropolis in my list of places in Athens!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Visited that place 3 times.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Was in hotel near that place and as result walk and climb to the top and back 3 times. Views are amazing all the time but during sunset and highlighted Acropolis you will receive the best view. Restaurant on top has very delicious food, and view from windows. You can drive your car there or take a special automatic "train" inside the mountain.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“amazing view from top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I & my wife visit lycabettus in the afternoon. We prepare ourselves for the long walking/hiking to funicular, but the hiking was not as hard as describe. The local houses we saw during walking made the hard trip to the top forgeted.... The view from the top is amazing.... a fancy restaurant also available on the top. And best time to visit is is the sunset time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adel, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The view is worth the climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Take your time, and, as you walk the steps up to the bottom of the cable car, enjoy the view of the homes in the area. The cable car is an adventure in itself, but, once you arrive at the top, the view is amazing. I would suggest going here after you have been to other sites in Athens,and, try and pick them out from up above.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos) also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.