We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sunset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos)

Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos)
Athens 99920, Greece
01-722-7065
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 198 attractions in Athens
Type: Mountains
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk or take the funicular tramway to the top of this hill for the best views of Athens
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Mt Lycabettus is the perfect place to view Athens and the sunset. We took the funicular to the top and enjoy the view and sunset for a few hours. The church of St. George is located at the top of Mt. L. Great place to spend a few hours. On the way down, we walked down the stairs in the local neighbourhood.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    211
    77
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

There is a funicular train that departs every half hour, but even so, its quite a walk up to that point, unless you take a taxi. There is no view at all from the train, so don't bother with rushing to get a seat. At the top the church is rather quaint, and of course the views are spectacular. Its very bright up there, so much so that my light sensitive glasses were so dark I could almost not operate my camera.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We paid 14 euros to go up by the vernacular rail- the views are good from here but too much space has been taken up by the restaurants. Better views for free from just outside the Acropolis and well worth the climb.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best view in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Overlooking Athens and facing the Acropolis, this is the best spot for seeing Athens from up above. Great, 360 degrees views, with glass protected coffee shop, that will protect you from the wind, but will not block the view.
A winding road leads to the top, where you can also observe some of the best neighborhoods of Athens.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We took a taxi to the cable car station and arrived at the top just on sunset. The views of Athens are marvellous and we liked the small chapel. It was quite cool and there were lots of young people. Recommend a visit, especially for romantics.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos) also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.