We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sunset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Lycabettus

Mt. Lycabettus
Centro de la Ciudad de Atenas, Athens 99920, Greece (Kolonaki / Lykavittos)
01-722-7065
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$228*
and up
Private Full Day Athens Photography Tour
Ranked #10 of 289 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk or take the funicular tramway to the top of this hill for the best views of Athens
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Mt Lycabettus is the perfect place to view Athens and the sunset. We took the funicular to the top and enjoy the view and sunset for a few hours. The church of St. George is located at the top of Mt. L. Great place to spend a few hours. On the way down, we walked down the stairs in the local neighbourhood.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KrishnaS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

There is a funicular train that departs every half hour, but even so, its quite a walk up to that point, unless you take a taxi. There is no view at all from the train, so don't bother with rushing to get a seat. At the top the church is rather quaint, and of course the views are spectacular. Its very bright up there, so much so that my light sensitive glasses were so dark I could almost not operate my camera.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We paid 14 euros to go up by the vernacular rail- the views are good from here but too much space has been taken up by the restaurants. Better views for free from just outside the Acropolis and well worth the climb.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank loopylou100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best view in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Overlooking Athens and facing the Acropolis, this is the best spot for seeing Athens from up above. Great, 360 degrees views, with glass protected coffee shop, that will protect you from the wind, but will not block the view.
A winding road leads to the top, where you can also observe some of the best neighborhoods of Athens.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moshe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
354 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We took a taxi to the cable car station and arrived at the top just on sunset. The views of Athens are marvellous and we liked the small chapel. It was quite cool and there were lots of young people. Recommend a visit, especially for romantics.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Lycabettus also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Lycabettus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing