We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos)

Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos)
Centro de la Ciudad de Atenas, Athens 99920, Greece
01-722-7065
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 569 Attractions in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk or take the funicular tramway to the top of this hill for the best views of Athens
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

There is a funicular train that departs every half hour, but even so, its quite a walk up to that point, unless you take a taxi. There is no view at all from the train, so don't bother with rushing to get a seat. At the top the church is rather quaint, and of course the views are spectacular. Its very bright up there, so much so that my light sensitive glasses were so dark I could almost not operate my camera.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    333
    105
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We paid 14 euros to go up by the vernacular rail- the views are good from here but too much space has been taken up by the restaurants. Better views for free from just outside the Acropolis and well worth the climb.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best view in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Overlooking Athens and facing the Acropolis, this is the best spot for seeing Athens from up above. Great, 360 degrees views, with glass protected coffee shop, that will protect you from the wind, but will not block the view.
A winding road leads to the top, where you can also observe some of the best neighborhoods of Athens.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We took a taxi to the cable car station and arrived at the top just on sunset. The views of Athens are marvellous and we liked the small chapel. It was quite cool and there were lots of young people. Recommend a visit, especially for romantics.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A missed attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We weren't going to go to Lycabettus Hill...when you are in Athens, your senses are overwhelmed with the Acropolis and the associated monuments. But we had an evening free, so we decided to explore.
The challenge is that most tourist maps don't tell you the way to get to it. And because very few people speak English, it is a little difficult to find your way to it. It took a long uphill walk from Syntagma Square, but we finally made it to the base, from where there is a private funicular.
When we got to the top, it was spectacular. You can see the entire Athens city, a lovely almost bird's eye view of all the monuments. So if you have a good zoom lens, you're going to love it.
Pack fluids for the long trudge, but it was worth every drop of sweat we broke.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos) also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Lycabettus (Likavitos), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.