We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive structure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temple of Olympian Zeus

Temple of Olympian Zeus
At Leoforos Vas. Olgas and Amalias and easily seen from the street, Athens, Greece
01-922-6330
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$75*
and up
Private Walking Tour: Benaki Museum
Ranked #24 of 178 Attractions in Athens
Type: Ancient Ruins, Monuments/ Statues, Cultural
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Impressive structure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Athens are about ruins and archeological sites. So if you are expecting something else don't visit. I found this structure very impressive but I looked at it as a part of history of the world. It was something more in the past. It was worth visiting to take some good pictures. If you stand in one of the corners you can get this temple, acropolis and the Arch of Hadrian in one picture. I paid €12 for joined ticked and this ticket covered some of the archeological sites in Athens (including Acropolis).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    230
    88
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It was fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Indeed, like much reviewers say, there is not much here. But if you are in Athens, this is one of the monuments that you must have visited. It is one open field, so when the weather is hot, make sure you have some water with you. It is nice to take a picture of this giant monument.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Depends what you like”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Yes, there are only a few pillars of what was one of the most impressive temples in Ancient Greece, but to look at them is incredible the sheer size of the place should humble anyone looking at it. In addition the other ruins around the grounds are very interesting, including parts of the Themistoclean wall. If you're not particularly interested in looking at the details of ancient monuments, or if you're very short on time, then you can just go to Hadrians arch and look at it through the fence.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not much here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were taken here only because the Acropolis was closed, being a Monday. Only a few pillars remain of what must have once been a magnificent temple. Our guide was good (GO Tours) and spiced up the visit with tales from Greek mythology. You can actually have a good view of the temple from outside instead of paying the fare to go inside.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
621 reviews 621 reviews
290 attraction reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Not much to see!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I absolutely love Greek Mythology and could not wait to see the temple dedicated to the gods of all gods. But when I got there I said: "That's it?" Sadly only a few columns remain from the temple which I assumed must have been one of the most amazing temples in the world back then. But again, the Greeks have not done a very good job over the past years to maintain and preserve those unbelievable structures. It was still pretty cool to say that I sat foot where the temple's ruins are today!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Temple of Olympian Zeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple of Olympian Zeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.