We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive theatre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Odeum of Herodes Atticus (Odeion / Irodion)

Odeum of Herodes Atticus (Odeion / Irodion)
Odos Dionissiou Areopayitou, Athens, Greece
123456789
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 328 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Second-century theater built into the hillside.
Sandefjord
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Impressive theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

An impressive theatre - and you pass it on your way up to Acropolis. Incredible acoustics! Would be a prime setting for a concert, but none held when we were there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    173
    29
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
184 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Despite renovations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We visited this attraction in October 2013 when it was under renovation. From what we could see from the outside the seating area was huge and was bigger than some other ampitheaters we have seen recently eg in Rome. My partner was determined to get photos from the inside and eventually persuaded a lady attached to a security service to take photos for which she refused any payment.

I would like to see it again without the restrictions but I think despite that it is an Athens "must see". It is only a few minutes from the Acropolis and well sign-posted,

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Part of the Acropolis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Get up here early in the morning to beat the crowds and heat. Prefer to see it on the way up (on the south side of the hill) since this is a less steep climb.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“better if possible to visit inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The place is great, but seems to be open only when there are events. But it is a good place to have seat and take a break.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Preserved Theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It is clearly seen that during the medieval times, this theater was awesome. looking at it, i could imagine myself sitting on one of the seats watching one of the famous greek tragedy drama

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Odeum of Herodes Atticus (Odeion / Irodion) also viewed

 

Been to Odeum of Herodes Atticus (Odeion / Irodion)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Odeum of Herodes Atticus (Odeion / Irodion), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.