We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byzantine Museum (Vizantino Museo)

Byzantine Museum (Vizantino Museo)
Leoforos Vas. Sofias 22, Athens, Greece
(+30) 213 213 9572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 178 Attractions in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 252 Reviews
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Provided a good explanation of the progression of art (religious art) through the centuries of Byzantine Christianity.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    61
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very fine and free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

nice staff, interesting to see, and easy to go there, easy read descriptions.
airconditionered.
teenager enjoyed it !

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

it carefully tells the complicated story and uses very well thought out objects and descriptions to synthesise it all. It could do with more publications. The collection was so good and the story so well told i cam away wanting more from the books but they were not there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

When you are tired of "the crumbles" this is the musem to visit! We had one day to spend in Athens, we had visited before, so we were looking for something diffferent. We are Christian, but even if you are not, I would think you would still appreciate the amazing art in this museum. There is a wide variety of mediums: sculpture, tapestries, religious ornaments, mosaics, and an amazing collection of icons. We spent about 2 and a half hours there and I would have loved to have been able to purchase a book of the collection to spend more time looking at esp. the icons.

And besides the excellent art collection, the museum is cool, clean and not crowded. Also all items had English explanation to add to your understanding and appreciation of artifacts.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“beautiful museum, enjoyable art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

A lovely museum that obviously gets a lot of funding: the exhibits were beautifully laid out and mounted, with brand new facilities. The objects themselves were interesting and you really got a sense of history from the way things were arranged. The temporary exhibits were disappointing, however.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byzantine Museum (Vizantino Museo) also viewed

 

Been to Byzantine Museum (Vizantino Museo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byzantine Museum (Vizantino Museo), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.