We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byzantine Museum (Vizantino Museo)

Byzantine Museum (Vizantino Museo)
Leoforos Vas. Sofias 22, Athens, Greece
(+30) 213 213 9572
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$182*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Medieval Athens Walking Tour...
Ranked #18 of 288 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Remarkable find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Amazing collection of Byzantine art work and artifacts. Very deceiving as all underground. Could have spent a day here. Very pleasant and a lovely café at which to sit outside, have a ice cappuccino and a spanakopita!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AOrange1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“LOVED it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

WOW! We stumbled across this museum on the way to the walk up the hill :) We spent a couple of hours here learning about the Byzantine and Christian heritage. This is a fabulous museum with old artefacts, you can get lost in here for hours. I did. But I am a Christian so it means a lot to me. 8 euro entré or something like that.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vashte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A different view of history from the time of Constantine to the Turks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This museum presented a very interesting view of history from the Byzantine Empire history, art, and early Christianity. It is a short walk from a close metro stop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Awesome Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

For a religious museum I thought it would be small and simple. It's the total opposite. You need over an hour to appreciate all the museums icons and artifacts. The museum is very modern with helpful staff and a wide range of Byzantine Art.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

If your visit to Athens is dominated by antiquities or by the life of the modern city, take a break to explore the medieval past. This well curated museum gives an introduction to the Orthodox Christian past of the city and the country, essential for understanding Modern Greece. The cafe is one of the hidden gems of Athens.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikos051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byzantine Museum (Vizantino Museo) also viewed

 

Been to Byzantine Museum (Vizantino Museo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing