We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hera Hotel to your Saves list
Hera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Falirou 9, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #32 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We only stayed at The Hotel Hera for one night, before our cruise through Greece and Turkey. The hotel was beautiful, room was small, but great with a large balcony and kview of the Acropolis! Breakfast was included and was plentiful. Plaka is a short walk away from the hotel with many restaurants, pubs and lots of shopping. Keep an eye out for old ruins in Plaka. We stumbled across many and even got to witness the Blessing of an infant at St. Catherine's. It was breathtaking.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your visit in Athens. St. Catherine is indeed a very nice small church close to us and it was nice that you had the chance to see a Greek Orthodox christening.

Hope to see you again..

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    213
    45
    19
    9
See reviews for
57
274
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location for visiting the historical sights of Athens, which of course is why you're coming here. The new Acropolis museum is a 3 minute walk from the hotel, the acropolis entrance is about 8 minutes and the ancient agora gate is about 12 minutes. You can also easily walk to Plaka and Monastraki from the hotel in less than 10 minutes. The hotel is clean and the front desk was attentive, friendly and helpful. The rooms are small, as to be expected for a European hotel. The water pressure and shower are strong and were extremely welcome after experiencing a poor shower in our last hotel. The breakfast was good, but not great. We didn't have the opportunity to eat at the rooftop restaurant, the Peacock, but the view was nice and the cocktails were decent, served by a friendly staff. Overall, this hotel is highly recommended as a launching point to see the sights and sounds of this fantastic and ancient city.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Randy,

Thank you for your review.

Its nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, our prime location is appreciated from all our guests, while visiting Athens.

Hope to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We found the boutique Hera Hotel to be a very nice place to stay while in Athens. It is located very close to restaurants and shopping, but more importantly it is only about one block to the new museum and within walking distance to the parthenon itself. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff very helpful. Although there was no pool, everything else made up for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed,our location is appreciated from all our guests.

Hope to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We only stayed at The Hotel Hera for one night, after our holiday throughout the Greek Islands. The hotel was beautiful, room was wonderful with a view of the Acropolis!! The breakfast was one of the best we had, throughout our 5 weeks in Greece. Also the Plaka is a short walk away from the hotel, very convenient!! We really enjoyed our short stay!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Anna K,

Thank you for your beatiful review!

i am glad that you enjoyed your 1 day in Athens.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bribane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Thanks Hera hotel for upgrading us to a suite on the top floor!
This very nice small hotel has lovely views of the acropolis and it is very close to the acropolis museum and a lovely cafe filled walkway to the Plaka. The roof top restaurant was a real treat, lovely view again. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hope to see you again!

Best regards

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I found a room at Hotel Hera very last minute on Expedia and I was very pleased. The hotel is in a great location (about one block from the new acropolis museum) but it is also about one block from a public walkway that has a strip of new places to eat as well as being easy walking distance to Plaka. The staff at the hotel were excellent - check in was excellent and they also were very helpful in recommending restaurants to exactly suit what we were looking for (for example, I asked for a recommendation of a traditional Greek restaurant in Plaka - and they recommended Prassas - the oldest restaurant in the area at 120 years old and it was fantastic).
We were on level 2 facing the street and the room right in front of the elevator. I usually hate those rooms as you hear everyone coming and going but this hotel was very quiet. We were there over the weekend so I am not sure if it is louder during the week. Bathrooms were great with very good water pressure. Breakfast was included and it was really good and served in a lovely atrium room on the ground floor. And the rooftop terrace was lovely for an afternoon drink - has a wonderful view of the acropolis.

Room Tip: Room 202 was good - even though it was right in front of the elevator it was very quiet. The hallwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hera hotel.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I only stayed one night at the Hera Hotel, but it was clean, very comfortable, and the staff was wonderful! We'd arrived early from Tel Aviv - too early to check in - and were exhausted and they made sure we had the first room available and earlier than expected! The walk to the Plaka was easy and safe. Our room overlooked the street and Athens is a noisy city, but the hotel is on a side road, so it wasn't bad at all. Nice little balcony and super comfy beds! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Denise,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hera hotel.

Indeed Athens is a busy city and during summer much more! I am happy that you enjoyed your sleep. Last year we changed all our mattresses , and Its nice to hear that we made a good choice!

Hope to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Address: Falirou 9, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#55 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.