We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hera Hotel to your Saves list
Hera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Falirou 9, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Satisfying stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We spent six nights here of which the first was terrible. We had just arrived from a weekend away and were bone tired and were given a cramped (normal for europe) room that was stifling hot. We unpacked and switched on the aircon and went out to dinner thinking the room would be bearable upon our return. It was not. The aircon was not releasing any cool air at all. We decided to just go to bed and kept the door to the tiniest balcony (overlooking walls, noisy aircon systems and windows of other ugly buildings) open as far as we could (it hit the furniture) to get some air in. In the morning we brought this to the attention of the front desk clerk who apologised profusely and said he would arrange to move us immediately. We repacked and left the bags to return in the afternoon to a new room at front of the hotel overlooking the street which had a small but pleasant balcony (no Acropolis view) and aircon that worked perfectly. That I'm happy to say, was the only hiccup of our stay. We had a twin bed room that although small did accommodate us well with some space for our clothes and things. The bathroom was also small (but not cramped) clean and modern and we had no issues using it although it could benefit from a hook or two to be able to hang clothes.

We enjoyed a wonderful, plentiful and delicious breakfast each morning in the spacious well lit breakfast room on the ground floor where the staff were always pleasant and obliging. Plenty to pick from both hot and cold, we enjoyed it very much. We did not eat at the rooftop restaurant but did enjoy the views and a drink/coffee up there a couple of times.

The front desk staff always greeted us with a smile and happily answered our questions and provided much appreciated assistance even when we needed to move a day tour booking that we had organised from home. The best recommendation we received was for the excellent Manh Manh restaurant located across the road and a few doors down - hands down the BEST Greek food we had over a two week stay in Athens. The entrance is not obvious and you walk up a flight of stairs to get to it and it is so so worth it - do yourself a favour and go there!

The hotel is located in a brilliant spot literally on the border of the historical (and very touristy) Plaka. It is in a residential location so you are literally a stroll from major sites, a metro station, eateries (spruikers can be annoying) and souvenir shopping without the noise and bustle of crowds and partying on your doorstep (or beneath your window).

The one criticism we do have is that the wifi although free, is painfully slow and unreliable. Having said that though, we left satisfied and happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am glad that overall you were satisfied with your stay.

Regarding your 1st day, I am sorry that you had that problem . However I am happy to hear that your new room was pleasant. As far as the internet is concerned, at this point we have the fastest line in the area. Unfortunately the local providers cannot create better internet lines due to the difficulty of the area. Additionally, we see in our system that many guests download big data ( movies, music, etc) during their stay, creating delay for other computers or tablets to operate.

Hope to see you again on your next trip to Athens.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    216
    45
    19
    9
See reviews for
59
276
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I started our honeymoon off in Athens at the Hera Hotel (7/2 - 7/4 2014). While the interior of the hotel and rooms (at least the one we were in) could use a little bit of updating, overall our stay was very nice! We had a Jr. Suite with an acropolis view - and boy was it a view! We went up to the rooftop restaurant one night for a drink, and ended up leaving to purchase our own beer and drink it on our balcony as our room view was better! The location is great, walking distance to all of the attractions a visitor to Athens would be interested in. The staff was nice and helpful, and the breakfast was very good. I'd definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Get one with a view - I don't know if I would have enjoyed the hotel quite as much without our a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mme,

Thank you for your nice review!

I am so glad that we were part of your honeymoon and you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed the view from the Junior Suites and the Acropolis view rooms is amazing! Glad that you liked it.

Thank you for recommending us.

Hope to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The location of this hotel can't be beat. It is almost kitty corner to the Acropolis Museum, near the metro and a short walk to Plaka. There are ton of restaurants to choose from close by. Staff were friendly and helpful. When I arrived, the front desk clerk told me about the concert at the Acropolis Museum and provided a map on how to get there. The room was small, but comfortable. I loved having Kleenex and a washcloth, something you don't typical see when traveling in Europe. Bed was comfy and the air conditioning worked great. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed our location is great, and all our guests are within walking distance to all major sites.
I hope that you enjoyed the concert at the Museum!
Looking forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Athens.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in a junior suite and though the room was a bit small, we have no complaints! The large balcony more than made up for it, and the bathrooms are lovely. Great breakfast in the morning. The location can't be beat. We were only in Athens for about 24 hours but since the hotel is so close to everything we wanted to see, we were able to do it all easily.
One note: the rooftop restaurant/bar is supposed to be open at 4pm, but we got there about 4:45 for a drink and snack and they were totally unprepared for us, so that was a little awkward. Maybe just an off day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Allison,

Thank you for your lovely review!

I am so glad to reaqd that you enjoyed your 1 day visit in Athens.

I apologize for the awkardness at the roof garden. Ill talk with them and see what happened.

Hope to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location, at the foot of the acropolis, 5 minute walk max to the new acropolis museum, acropolis and Plaka. Excellent and friendly customer service. Rooms are a little small/tight and could use some updating. The location makes up for its fault, it is conveniently located in the heart of most things you would want to see in Athens.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel.

Hope to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We visited this hotel again last month, a year later after our first trip. We got there at 2pm, but the room was not ready, but they were able to hold our luggage, so we went to nearby Plaka and ate there and got back just in time. We had been upgraded to a street/ Acropolis view room, which was EXCELLENT. Also, we had initially ordered a house wine as we usually do, but this time it was complimentary from the management. We loved the service (again) since we got there. I believe the same receptionist lady attended us from last year, and she's always so nice and available to help. Rooms are spacious, very clean and housekeeping staff are great, so we always left tips because we appreciate the extra little things they'd do (like reorganize our mess, tidy up, and other things we'd notice). This hotel has exceeded my expectations as usual, although this time the terrace restaurant staff were not as dedicated as our last time there when there were 2 younger people last year. In any case, I would have wanted a bit better service there but you can't always have everything. This hotel is great and we've made it our hotel of choice every time we visit Athens. You can't beat the location, service, and accommodation itself. I love the western feel of service of this hotel, and the management has done an outstanding job.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Felipe,

Thank you for choosing Hera Hotel once again!

I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. its so nice to read such nice comments!

Hope to see you again next year too!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Disappointed, we had reservations here and upon arrival they said something along the lines of person occupying our hotel room was sick and couldn't accommodate our reservation (I think just overbooked in my mind). He said he booked us a better hotel room down the street at a much better hotel room. When we got to the hotel room the hotel was in worse shape then Hera and not as central located. Dumb

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Kevin,

I am so sorry to read your review.

Its so sad that you gave us such a bad review since you didnt stay with us.
However I want to apologize that we couldn't accommodate you and had to move you on a different hotel. There are many cases where guests have problems or change of plans, and they have to extend their stay with us. We do understand that you were dissapointed, however, such cases occur very often to all hotels and of course we try to offer the best available option.

I hope that we shall have the pleasure to accommodate you another time .

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Address: Falirou 9, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#54 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.